Genre: Pop Rock
Label: New West
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Sir Douglas Quintet Live From Austin, TX 180g 2LP

Sir Douglas Quintet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl Double LP!
Pressed On Vinyl For First Time!

We're Talkin' Tex-Mex Rock 'N' Roll!

"In this show from January 21, 1981, Doug Sahm (AKA Sir Doug) reunites with original band members Augie Meyers and Johnny Perez, along with the legendary Alvin Crow on guitar and Speedy Sparks on bass for a no-holds-barred, rip-snortin' Texas rock 'n' roll revival. Back in the day, the SIR DOUGLAS QUINTET was Texas's answer to the British Invasion. With the arrival of The Beatles, Sir Doug & Co. saw their chance to break out the rough, Chicano-influenced rock they had been playing in the joints around San Antonio. They donned English-looking suits and hit the charts with "She's About A Mover" in 1965. Nobody was quite sure where they came from, but they rode the English-pop wave to fame. There's something contagious about Augie's cheesy, pumping Vox organ chords and Sir Doug's chang-a-chang rhythm guitar over Johnny's Mexican drumming style, drenched in psychedelia, that stood out from everything else at the time. And it still does today. You may not be able to sit down through "She's About A Mover" or "Mendocino," but that's OK. Doug is no longer with us, but you can be sure that somewhere he's still kickin' out the jams." – Terry Lickona (producer Austin City Limits)

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold jacket
• Pressed On Vinyl For First Time

Side One:

1. Mendocino
2. 96 Tears
3. Rains Came
4. Down On The Border
5. It Was Fun While It Lasted
6. I Keep Wishing For You
Side Two:
1. Groover's Paradise
2. Goin' Down To Mexico
3. Who Were You Thinkin' Of?
4. Who'll Be The Next In Line?
5. Tonite, Tonite
6. Old Habits Die Hard
Side Three:
1. At The Crossroads
2. (Is Anybody Goin' To) San Antone
3. Ya No Llores / Chicano
4. You're Gonna Miss Me
5. She's About A Mover
Side Four:

Customers Also Like