Genre: Pop Rock
Label: BMG
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Skunk Baxter Speed of Heat 2LP

Skunk Baxter

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Debut Solo Record from Legendary Guitarist on Double LP!
Featuring Michael McDonald, Clint Black, Jonny Lang & Rick Livingstone!

You've heard his extraordinary and captivating guitar playing thousands of times - on groundbreaking, multi-platinum albums by Steely Dan (a band he cofounded) and the Doobie Brothers (with whom he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame), and on countless smash hit songs and albums he's participated in as an in-demand, first-call studio musician. But the one place you haven't heard the exceptional and versatile talents of guitarist Jeff "Skunk" Baxter - one of the most-recorded guitarists of his generation, whose work has run the gamut from rock to pop to country to R&B and everything in-between - is on an album where he gets the opportunity to focus on the personal... on a record all his own.

That's all changed with the release of Baxter's masterful solo LP, Speed of Heat, on BMG/Renew Records. But first, the inevitable question: What took him so long? He laughs good-naturedly and says, "Well, that is a good question. I don't mean to sound disingenuous, but it seems to me that the moment somebody leaves a successful band, the first thing they do is record a solo album. As for myself, I thought I would consider that down the road, because I hadn't had much time to really think about it, being immersed in so much studio work and record production, so I kept saying, 'I'll do it someday.'" He laughs again, then adds, "OK, so I had a lot of time to think about it."

For music fans of all stripes, and particularly those who have followed Baxter's remarkable career through the years, Speed of Heat will prove well worth the wait. The 12-song album is a riveting and rewarding musical experience that features a host of amazing originals co-written by the guitarist and his keyboardist/producing partner, CJ Vanston, as well as inspired versions of some of the great classics. Along the way, Baxter is joined by special guests such as Michael McDonald, Clint Black, Jonny Lang and Rick Livingstone, each of whom adds their own unique and remarkable musical talents to the project's brilliant sonic mosaic.


  • Double LP
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in Canada


Side A:

  1. Ladies from Hell
  2. My Old School
  3. Juliet

Side B:

  1. I Can Do Without
  2. Do It Again
  3. Apache

Side C:

  1. My Place in the Sun
  2. The Rose
  3. Bad Move

Side D:

  1. Giselle
  2. Insecurity
  3. Speed of Heat

Customers Also Like