Genre: Blues
Label: Thirty Tigers
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Son Volt Notes of Blue 180g LP

Son Volt

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl LP! 10 Songs Inspired By The Spirit of The Blues On Vinyl LP!

The 10 songs on Notes of Blue are inspired by the spirit of the blues, but not the standard blues as most know it. The unique and haunting tunings of Mississippi Fred McDowell, Skip James and Nick Drake were all points of exploration for Farrar for the new collection.

The album opens with the country soul of "Promise The World", followed by "Back Against The Wall", a song that could stand alongside the great Son Volt songs of their early albums. However, Notes of Blue reflects the blues as it resides in the folk tradition, but heavily amplified. The primal stomp of "Cherokee St", the frenetic guitar on "Static" and the raw slide in "Sinking Down" exude grit and attitude. Conversely, tracks such as "The Storm" and "Cairo and Southern" seamlessly meld blues with hypnotic melodies that add a unique balance to Notes of Blue.

"...[S]ongs like 'Cairo and Southern' capture the deep mystery, the lightning in a bottle, that illuminates the best traditional folk blues... A stinging electric slide and throbbing bass power the blistering blues 'Sinking Down'... The closer, 'Threads and Steel' is hipster blues at its best." - Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, April 2017, 3.5/5 Music, 3.5/5 Sonics

• 180g Vinyl
• Limited Time Digital Download

Jay Farrar, acoustic & electric guitars, organ
Jacob Edwards, drums, percussion
Gary Hunt, fiddle, background vocals
Jason Kardong, pedal steel
Mark Spencer, bass, piano, background vocals, weissenborn

Side A:

1. Promise the World
2. Back Against the Wall
3. Static
4. Cherokee St
5. The Storm
Side B:
6. Lost Souls
7. Midnight
8. Sinking Down
9. Cairo and Southern
10. Threads and Steel

Customers Also Like