Genre: Pop Rock
Label: A&M
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Soundgarden Down On the Upside 180g 2LP


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
20th Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Remastered By Bob Ludwig From Original Analog Tapes!

Down On The Upside, Soundgarden’s fifth full-length studio album, released on May 21, 1996, debuting at #2 on the Billboard 200, represented a significant stylistic departure away from alternative metal into a more experimental sound with an emphasis on vocals, melody and more diverse instrumentation. The music on the album was notably less heavy than the group's preceding albums.

Down On The Upside would become Soundgarden's final studio album for 16 years as tensions within the band led to its break-up in April 1997. It is the band's third album with bassist Ben Shepherd.

The album debuted at number 2 on the United States' Billboard 200, selling 200,000 copies in its opening week and spawning the singles "Pretty Noose", "Burden in My Hand", "Blow Up the Outside World", and "Ty Cobb".
The album's title comes from lyrics in the fourth track "Dusty."

"...they've retained their ambitious song structures, neo-psychedelic guitar textures, and winding melodies but haven't dressed them up with detailed production... Down on the Upside is visceral as well as cerebral -- 'Rhinosaur' goes for the gut, while 'Pretty Noose' is updated, muscular prog might seem like nothing more than heavy metal, but a closer listen reveals that Soundgarden hasn't tempered their ambitions at all." - Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

• 20th Anniversary Edition
• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket
• Remastered By Bob Ludwig
• Remastered from original analog tapes
• Limited time download card - 320kbps MP4 AAC

1. Pretty Noose
2. Rhinosaur
3. Zero Chance
4. Dusty
5. Ty Cobb
6. Blow Up The Outside World
7. Burden In My Hand
8. Never Named
9. Applebite
10. Never The Machine Forever
11. Tighter & Tighter
12. No Attention
13. Switch Opens
14. Overfloater
15. An Unkind
16. Boot Camp

Customers Also Like