Genre: Pop Rock
Label: SIN/Legacy
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Spandau Ballet Through The Barricades LP

Spandau Ballet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Remastered Vinyl LP!
Includes Special Fold-Out Poster With Lyrics & Photos!

10 year collector's edition of classic album, remastered.

Through the Barricades is the fifth studio album by Spandau Ballet. It was released in November 1986 and reached number seven and remained on the UK album chart for 19 weeks. It produced three UK hit singles: "Fight For Ourselves" (#15), "How Many Lies" (#34) and the band's final top ten hit, "Through the Barricades" (#6).

The song lyrics were inspired by love prevailing over the Troubles in Northern Ireland and the death of a member of the crew in the Troubles.

"We had a guy called 'Kidso' (Thomas Reilly), who worked for us on merchandise during the True tour," guitarist Gary Kemp explains. "He went back to Belfast after the tour and was killed. Kidso's brother, Jim, who played drums for Stiff Little Fingers, subsequently took me along to see his grave and the song was inspired by walking down the Falls Road. I got to experience some of the emotion of that first-hand and it just stuck with me. I didn't expect it to come out in the shape of a 'Romeo-and-Juliet' sort of song, but it did."

The composition has become a concert mainstay over the years, as Gary continues: "We were quite nervous about playing it in Belfast in the Eighties, but the reaction was incredible. I remember one guy on his mate's shoulders, and the guy was crying and punching the air." - Andrew Johnston, Belfast Telegraph

• Vinyl LP
• Remastered
• Fold-out poster with lyrics and photos
• Made in the EU

Side One:

1. Barricades - Introduction
2. Cross The Line
3. Man In Chains
4. How Many Lies?
5. Virgin
Side Two:
1. Fight For Ourselves
2 Swept
3. Snakes And Lovers
4. Through The Barricades

Customers Also Like