Genre: Folk
Label: New West
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Steve Earle I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive 180g LP

Steve Earle

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Michael Fremer Rated 9/11 for Music, 9/11!!!

Limited Edition 180g Premium Audiophile Virgin Vinyl!

I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive is the follow up to the Grammy Award winning 2009 release Townes. The 11- track set was produced by T Bone Burnett and is Earle’s first collection of original material since his 2007 Grammy Award winning, Washington Square Serenade. I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive is pressed on 180 gram vinyl.

Writing for I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive began three years prior to the album's release, the longest span of any song cycle in Steve Earle’s career. The first two compositions were “God Is God” and “I Am A Wanderer,” two songs written by Earle for Joan Baez’ 2008 album, Day After Tomorrow (which Earle also produced). The album also includes the celebrated song “This City,” written for the HBO Original Series, Treme, which Earle also appeared in as an actor. In 2011, Earle reprises his role of Harley during many episodes of Treme’s second season. “This City” features horn arrangements by Allen Toussaint and has garnered a Grammy Award Nomination in the Best Song Written for Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media Category. Additionally, the song also garnered Earle’s first Emmy Award nomination in the Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics Category. I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive also features “Heaven or Hell,” a duet with Earle’s wife, the critically acclaimed singer-songwriter Allison Moorer.

“They are all, as far as I can tell, about mortality in one way or the other; death as a mystery rather than a punctuation mark or at least, a comma rather than a period,” Earle comments on the songs in the album liner notes.

The title of both Steve Earle’s album is taken from the Hank Williams song by the same name; the last single released during his lifetime in 1952.

A protégé of legendary songwriters Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark, Earle quickly became a master storyteller in his own right, with his songs being recorded by Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Emmylou Harris, Waylon Jennings, Travis Tritt, The Pretenders, Joan Baez and countless others. 1986 saw the release of his debut record, Guitar Town, which shot to number one on the country charts and immediately established the term “New Country.” What followed was an extremely exciting and varied array of releases including the biting hard rock of Copperhead Road (1988), the minimalist beauty of Train A Comin’ (1995),the politically charged masterpiece, Jerusalem (2002) and the Grammy Award Winning albums The Revolution Starts...Now (2004), Washington Square Serenade (2007) and Townes (2009). I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive is Steve Earle’s 14th Studio Album.

"‘l’ll Never Get Out of This World Alive” is among Earle’s strongest albums. His vocals are emotionallly powerful, and with its richly drawn lyrics and intricate arrangements it’s an album you can come back to often and uncover new pleasures each visit." - Michael Fremer,, Music 9/11, Sound 9/11

• Limited Edition
• 180g Premium Audiophile Virgin Vinyl

Side A:

1. Waitin’ On The Sky
2. Little Emperor
3. The Gulf Of Mexico
4. Molly–O
5. God Is God
Side B:
6. Meet Me In The Alleyway
7. Every Part Of Me
8. Lonely Are The Free
9. Heaven Or Hell (with Allison Moorer)
10. I Am A Wanderer
11. This City

Customers Also Like