Steven Wilson Presents: Intrigue - Progressive Sounds in UK Alternative Music 1979-89 Import 7LP Box Set

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

7LP Box Set Assembled by Porcupine Tree's Steven Wilson!
Includes Wire, XTC, Cocteau Twins, Kate Bush, Tears for Fears, Joy Division, The Cure & More!
Mastered by Phil Kinrade & Cut by Barry Grint at AIR Mastering!
Pressed at Pallas!

Demon Records is proud to release Steven Wilson Presents: Intrigue - Progressive Sounds in UK Alternative Music 1979-89, a compilation assembled by acclaimed musician, singer-songwriter, and record producer Steven Wilson.

"This is my personally curated attempt to redress the balance, and to perhaps introduce any '80s-sceptics out there to the idea that conceptual thinking and ambition didn't suddenly evaporate after '77...ambitious, weird and thrilling music was all around you in the '80s - if you looked in the right places." - Steven Wilson

Featuring 58 tracks, the collection explores the creativity, experimentation and progressive spirit of alternative British music from 1979-1989.

Artists include Wire, XTC, The Stranglers, Ultravox, The Durutti Column, Cocteau Twins, Kate Bush, Tears for Fears, and many more.

Pressed at Pallas on seven 140g-vinyl LPs, housed in printed inner sleeves and a rigid outer slipcase, with a 40-page booklet featuring an introduction by Steven Wilson and extensive track-by-track liner notes by James Nice.

Mastered by Phil Kinrade and cut by Cicely Balston and Barry Grint at AIR Mastering.

A 2LP vinyl edition (DEMLPI1081) is also available, which features 20 highlights.


  • 7LP Box Set
  • 140g Vinyl
  • Assembled/Curated by Steven Wilson of Porcupine Tree
  • Mastered by Phil Kinrade
  • Cut by Barry Grint at AIR Mastering
  • Pressed at Pallas
  • Printed Inner Sleeves
  • Rigid Outer Slipcase
  • 40-Page Booklet - Introduction by Steven Wilson & Extensive Track-by-Track Liner Notes by James Nice
  • Import
  • Made in the EU



Side A:
  1. I Should Have Known Better – Wire
  2. A Better Home In The Phantom Zone – Bill Nelson's Red Noise
  3. Back To Nature – Magazine
  4. Complicated Game (Steven Wilson 2014 Stereo Mix) – XTC
Side B:
  1. Careering – Public Image Limited
  2. The Raven – The Stranglers
  3. Puppet Life – Punishment Of Luxury
  4. Astradyne (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix) – Ultravox
  5. Contract – Gang Of Four


Side A:
  1. I Travel (Extended Version) – Simple Minds
  2. Sketch For Summer – The Durutti Column
  3. Cognitive Dissonance (Steven Wilson 2022 Mix) – Robert Fripp And The League Of Gentlemen
  4. The Fatal Day – In Camera
Side B:
  1. Health And Efficiency - This Heat
  2. Burning Car – John Foxx
  3. I Can't Escape Myself - The Sound
  4. The Eternal - Joy Division


Side A:
  1. Big Empty Field - Swell Maps
  2. Enemies - Art Nouveau
  3. The Joy Circuit - Gary Numan
  4. The Gospel Comes To New Guinea - 23 Skidoo
Side B:
  1. All My Colours - Echo And The Bunnymen
  2. Ghost Town (Extended Version) - The Specials
  3. They All Run After The Carving Knife - New Musik
  4. The Him - New Order


Side A:
  1. White Car In Germany (Single Edit) - The Associates
  2. Sealand - Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
  3. Talking Drum – Japan
  4. Faith - The Cure
Side B:
  1. Hit - Section 25
  2. Three Dancers (Steven Wilson 2021 Mix) - Twelfth Night
  3. Airwaves - Thomas Dolby
  4. Are You Ready? - Crispy Ambulance
  5. The Outsider - Rupert Hine


Side A:
  1. Knife Slits Water - A Certain Ratio
  2. Memories Fade - Tears For Fears
  3. Patient - Peter Hammill
  4. In A Waiting Room - Mr And Mrs Smith And Mr Drake
Side B:
  1. Donimo - Cocteau Twins
  2. Close (To The Edit) - The Art Of Noise
  3. Rawhide - Scott Walker
  4. Brilliant Trees - David Sylvian


Side A:
  1. Dalis Car - Dalis Car
  2. Dream Within A Dream – Propaganda
  3. Waking The Witch - Kate Bush
  4. Ivy And Neet - This Mortal Coil
Side B:
  1. Beehead (7" Version) - Perennial Divide
  2. This Corrosion – The Sisters Of Mercy
  3. Ascension - O Yuki Conjugate
  4. Gutter Busting – SLAB!


Side A:
  1. No Motion - Dif Juz
  2. Murderers, The Hope Of Women - Momus
  3. The Host Of Seraphim - Dead Can Dance
  4. R.E.S. - Cardiacs
Side B:
  1. Good Morning Beautiful - The The
  2. Omega Amigo - The Shamen
  3. Night Sky, Sweet Earth - No-Man
  4. The 3rd Time We Opened The Capsule - Kitchens Of Distinction

Customers Also Like