Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sanctuary
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Motorhead Motorhead 1979 Box Set Half-Speed Mastered 180g 7LP & 7" Vinyl Box Set


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set Celebration Of The Loudest, Dirtiest Rock 'n' Roll Of 1979!
'Overkill' & 'Bomber' Albums Half-Speed Mastered On 180g Vinyl LP!
2 Live Concerts On 4LP & 1 LP Of B-Sides, Outtakes & Rare Tracks + 7" Single!

1979 was MOTÖRHEAD year - the year of Overkill and Bomber. MOTÖRHEAD, the loudest band in the world, with the power and force of a hundred pneumatic drills they destroyed the nation over and again and no-one, repeat no-one, remained unaffected by them - everyone was torn limb from limb. The albums Overkill and Bomber were ten times more powerful than their first album Motörhead, which was a killer in itself. The production was in the capable and experienced hands of one Jimmy Miller, whose previous successes had been with the likes of the Rolling Stones. He brought out the very best in the boys and the total effect was lethal. Overkill and Bomber are real skullcrackers, brain damaging to the nth degree and with the hit singles "Overkill", "No Class" and "Bomber" you can doubtless guess the destroying effect of the whole affair. That's Motörhead, straight, basic, down to earth rock and roll, with absolutely no holds barred.

This Box Set contains the Overkill and Bomber albums - brand new half speed masters created from the original tapes for optimal lawn killing / wall-shaking dynamic range. Pressed on 180g heavyweight vinyl.

Also included are Live at Friars, Aylesbury on 31st March 1979 and Live at La Rotunde, Le Mans on 3rd November 1979: Two double live albums of newly unearthed, previously unreleased concerts.

The Rest Of '79; Ten song album of B-sides, outtakes and rare tracks from 1979.

No Class; Trifold 7" of the No Class single with all three of the original cover variations.

The live material is really the draw here. Neither record sounds as meaty and in your face as the band's monumental No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith, but it does catch the band at their loosest and goofiest. Lemmy toys with the crowds at both gigs between songs and gives his bandmates the business. When they finally tear into a song, it's like trying to grab hold of a freight train at cruising speed. No other band was better at adding some hair to the driving tempos of punk and taking the piss out of the doomy intentions of Sabbath and Priest. Spend ample time with the booklet included in the set while you're at it. The booklet includes some reproductions of hyperbolic articles written about the band in the British music rags as well as some remembrances from members of their road crew and a perfect tribute essay from, of all people, Peter Hook of New Order. A treat for fans and new listeners alike.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • 40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set
  • 7LP & 7" Vinyl Single
  • Overkill and Bomber albums, brand new half-speed masters created from original tapes and pressed on 180g vinyl
  • Live At Friars 2LP - newly unearthed, previously unreleased concert
  • Live At La Rotunde 2LP - newly unearthed, previously unreleased concert
  • The Rest Of '79 (1LP) - B-sides, outtakes and rare tracks from 1979
  • No Class - Trifold 7" of the No Class single with all 3 original cover variations
  • Melödy Breaker - 40 page book of Interviews with key players, accomplices and various guilty parties in the world of Mötorhead in 1979
  • Never before seen photos and rare memorabilia
  • Reproduction of original 1979 Bomber tour program
  • Reproduction of Motörhead '79 fan club badge set
  • Reproduction sheet music for the song "Overkill"


LP 1 - Overkill:

Side One:
  1. Overkill
  2. Stay Clean
  3. (I Won't) Pay Your Price
  4. I'll Be Your Sister
  5. Capricorn
Side Two:
  1. No Class
  2. Damage Case
  3. Tear Ya Down
  4. Metropolis
  5. Limb From Limb

LP 2 & 3 - Live At Aylesbury Friars, March 31, 1979:

Side One:
  1. Overkill
  2. Stay Clean
  3. Keep Us On The Road
  4. No Class
  5. Leaving Here
Side Two:
  1. Iron Horse / Born To Lose
  2. Metropolis
  3. The Watcher
  4. Damage Case
Side Three:
  1. (I Won't) Pay Your Price
  2. Capricorn
  3. Too Late, Too Late
  4. I'll Be Your Sister
Side Four:
  1. I'm Your Witchdoctor
  2. Train Kept A-Rollin'
  3. Limb From Limb
  4. White Line Fever
  5. Motörhead

LP 4 - Bomber:

Side One:
  1. Dead Men Tell No Tales
  2. Lawman
  3. Sweet Revenge
  4. Sharpshooter
  5. Poison
Side Two:
  1. Stone Dead Forever
  2. All The Aces
  3. Step Down
  4. Talking Head
  5. Bomber

LP 5 & 6 - Live At Rotunde, Le Mans, November 3, 1979:

Side One:
  1. Overkill
  2. Stay Clean
  3. No Class
  4. Metropolis
Side Two:
  1. All The Aces
  2. Dead Men Tell No Tales
  3. I'll Be Your Sister
  4. Lawman
  5. Too Late, Too Late
Side Three:
  1. Poison
  2. (I Won't) Pay Your Price
  3. Sharpshooter
  4. Capricorn
  5. Train Kept A-Rollin'
Side Four:
  1. Bomber
  2. Limb From Limb
  3. White Line Fever
  4. Motörhead

LP 7 - The Rest Of '79:

Side One:
  1. Too Late, Too Late (Overkill 7" B-Side)
  2. Like A Nightmare (Alternative Version Of No Class B-Side)
  3. Over The Top (Bomber 7" B-Side)
  4. Stone Dead Forever (Alternative Version)
  5. Sharpshooter (Alternative Version)
Side Two:
  1. Bomber (Alternative Version)
  2. Step Down (Alternative Version)
  3. Fun On The Farm (Bomber Outtake)
  4. Treat Me Nice (Bomber Outtake)
  5. You Ain't Gonna Live Forever (Bomber Outtake)

7" Single - No Class:

Side One:
  1. No Class
Side Two:
  1. Like A Nightmare

Customers Also Like