Steven Wilson Presents: Intrigue - Progressive Sounds in UK Alternative Music 1979-89 Import 2LP

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

2LP Compilation Assembled by Porcupine Tree's Steven Wilson!
Includes XTC, The Stranglers, Ultravox, The Durutti Column, Cocteau Twins & More!
Mastered by Phil Kinrade and Cut by Barry Grint at AIR Mastering!

Demon Records is proud to release Steven Wilson Presents: Intrigue - Progressive Sounds in UK Alternative Music 1979-89, a compilation assembled by acclaimed musician, singer-songwriter, and record producer Steven Wilson.

"This is my personally curated attempt to redress the balance, and to perhaps introduce any '80s-sceptics out there to the idea that conceptual thinking and ambition didn't suddenly evaporate after '77...ambitious, weird and thrilling music was all around you in the '80s - if you looked in the right places." - Steven Wilson

Featuring 19 tracks, the collection explores the creativity, experimentation and progressive spirit of alternative British music from 1979-1989. Artists include XTC, The Stranglers, Ultravox, The Durutti Column, Cocteau Twins and many more.

Pressed on two 140g vinyl (mastered by Phil Kinrade and cut by Barry Grint at AIR Mastering) housed in printed inner sleeves and accompanied by a 12-page booklet with an introduction by Steven Wilson and extensive track-by-track liner notes by James Nice.

A 7LP edition is also available (DEMLPI78) featuring 58 tracks and expanded liner notes.


  • 140 Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Assembled/Curated by Steven Wilson of Porcupine Tree
  • Mastered by Phil Kinrade
  • Cut by Barry Grint at AIR Mastering
  • Printed Inner Sleeves
  • 12-Page Booklet - Introudction by Steven Wilson & Extensive Track-by-Track Liner Notes by James Nice
  • Import
  • Made in the EU


LP 1

Side 1:
  1. A Better Home In The Phantom Zone - Bill Nelson's Red Noise
  2. Back To Nature - Magazine
  3. Complicated Game (Steven Wilson 2014 Mix) - XTC
  4. The Raven - The Stranglers
  5. Puppet Life - Punishment Of Luxury
Side 2:
  1. Astradyne (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix) - Ultravox
  2. Sketch For Summer - The Durutti Column
  3. Health And Efficency - This Heat
  4. Cognitive Dissonance (Steven Wilson 2022 Mix) - Robert Fripp And The League Of Gentlemen
  5. Three Dancers (Steven Wilson 2021 Mix) - Twelfth Night

LP 2

Side 1:
  1. Airwaves - Thomas Dolby
  2. Knife Slits Water - A Certain Ratio
  3. Donmio - Cocteau Twins
  4. Beehead (7" Version) - Perennial Divide
Side 2:
  1. No Motion- Dif Juz
  2. Gutter Busting - SLAB!
  3. The Host Of Seraphim - Dead Can Dance
  4. R.E.S. - Cardiacs
  5. Night Sky, Sweet Earth - No-Man

Customers Also Like