Genre: Classical
Label: Universal
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Sting Symphonicities 2LP


Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Symphonicities includes Sting's most celebrated songs re-imagined for symphonic arrangement. Mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk!

Deutsche Grammophon/Cherry Tree releases Symphonicities by Sting featuring the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra, conducted by Steven Mercurio. The studio album, comprised of Sting's most celebrated songs re-imagined for symphonic arrangement, serves as the ultimate commemoration of the live concert experience including the first single "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic".

Created exclusively for the summer 2010 tour and correlating album, Sting's greatest hits have been reinterpreted with brand new orchestrations arranged by Jorge Calandrelli, David Hartley, Michel Legrand, Rob Mathes, Vince Mendoza, Steven Mercurio, Bill Ross, Robert Sadin and Nicola Tescari. In addition to the first single, highlights include fan-favorites culled from The Police songbook such as "Roxanne" and "Next To You", as well as songs from Sting's enduring solo career including "Englishmen in New York", "I Burn For You", and "She's Too Good For Me" among others. Symphonicities was produced by Rob Mathes and Sting, mixed by Elliot Scheiner and Claudius Mittendorfer.

Sting's interest in collaborating with an orchestra began in 2008 following an invitation to perform with the legendary Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and was furthered by the opportunity to join the Philadelphia Orchestra for a celebration of the 153rd anniversary of the Academy of Music. Reworking selections from his expansive catalog, these performances left an indelible mark on Sting and provided the initial inspiration for the summer 2010 tour.

"Performing with both the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Philadelphia Orchestra was truly a highlight of my career. I am looking forward to the upcoming tour with undisguised glee, having a whole new palate of musical colors to work with and reinventing the songs that have been the staples of my live performances for over thirty years." - Sting

"Pairing Sting with the orchestra is brilliant synchronicity on multiple levels. He’s a consummate showman and a willful storyteller" - Denver Post

" all-star cast of arrangers reworked the songs, and time clearly had been spent making sure the pop musicians and orchestral players onstage would work together to create a genuinely hybrid sound." - Los Angeles Times

• 2 Vinyl LPs
• Mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk Studios in NYC
• Gatefold jacket

Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra
Steven Mercurio, conductor

1. Next To You
2. Englishman In New York
3. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
4. I Hung My Head
5. You Will Be My Ain True Love
6. Roxanne
7. When We Dance
8. The End of the Game
9. I Burn For You
10. We Work the Black Seam
11. She's Too Good For Me
12. The Pirate's Bride

Bonus Track:
13. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic (Bronx Street Fair Mix)

Customers Also Like