Genre: Jazz
Label: Fantasy


The Bill Evans Trio Explorations Hybrid Stereo SACD

The Bill Evans Trio

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
As early as 1956, Bill Evans was hearing in his mind the kind of trio he would like to have, a band in which everyone was simultaneously free and together, in which time was understood but not always strictly played. In 1959, with his longtime colleague Paul Motian and the young bassist Scott LaFaro, he at last had a trio in which everyone felt his way of playing time.

Furthermore, LaFaro was compatible with Evan's advanced harmonic ideas, capable of complementing and enhancing the pianist's sophisticated chord voicings. By early 1961, the trio had realized Evan's explorations of the possibilities of the song form advanced jazz as an art and made his group one of the most influential in the music's history.

Explorations was a fitting title for this collection of probing, almost achingly beautiful music. It has never been heard with greater depth and clarity than in this Super Audio Compact Disc (SACD) edition.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Bill Evans, piano
Scott LaFaro, bass
Paul Motian, drums

1. Israel
2. Haunted Heart
3. Beautiful Love (take 2)
4. Beautiful Love (take 1)*
5. Elsa
6. Nardis
7. How Deep Is the Ocean?
8. I Wish I Knew
9. Sweet and Lovely
10. The Boy Next Door*
*Bonus Tracks

Total Time: 51:09
Recorded at Bell Sound Studios, New York City, February 2, 1961.

Customers Also Like