Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Elektra
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Cars Shake It Up (Expanded) 180g 2LP

The Cars

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Remastered Expanded Edition 180g Double LP!
Bonus Material Includes Six Previously Unreleased Tracks!

To celebrate The Cars 2018 induction into The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame - honoring the legendary band’s incredible musical legacy and enormous commercial success - Rhino releases an expanded 2LP edition for Shake It Up.

The expanded double LP edition features the original album – remastered in 2016 – expanded with rare and unreleased bonus tracks. Illustrated booklets accompany the music and contain liner notes written by renowned rock journalist David Fricke, who details the history of each album with new interviews by band member David Robinson.

Ric Ocasek, Elliot Easton, Greg Hawkes, Benjamin Orr and David Robinson recorded Shake It Up in 1981 at Syncro Sound, the group’s new studio in Boston, with producer Roy Thomas Baker. Working in their own space afforded them the time to perfect the sound of the album, which became their third-straight Top 10 hit record and sold more than two million copies. It features the unforgettable singles "Since You’re Gone," "Think It Over" and The Cars’ first Top 10 hit single, "Shake It Up." Several unreleased tracks make their debut on SHAKE IT UP: EXPANDED EDITION, including an early version of "Since You’re Gone," the demo for "Shake It Up" and an unreleased song called "Midnight Dancer."

The Cars are an American rock band that emerged from the new wave scene in the late 1970s. The band originated in Boston, Massachusetts in 1976. With its sleek, mechanical pop/rock, the band racked up a string of platinum albums and Top 40 singles that made it one of the most popular American rock & roll bands of the late '70s and early '80s. The Cars were inspired by proto-punk, garage rock, and bubblegum pop. The Cars were named "Best New Artist" in the 1978 Rolling Stone Readers' Poll and won "Video of the Year" for "You Might Think" at the first MTV Video Music Awards. As of 2001, the Cars have sold over 23 million albums in the United States.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Expanded edition
• Remastered
• Gatefold jacket
• 6 Previously Unreleased Tracks
• Illustrated booklet with liner notes by renowned rock journalist David Fricke
• New interview with band member David Robinson

Ric Ocasek, rhythm guitar, lead vocals (1-4,6,9)
Elliot Easton, lead guitar, backing vocals
Greg Hawkes, keyboards, backing vocals
Benjamin Orr, bass, lead vocals (5,7,8)
David Robinson, drums, percussion

Original Album:
Side 1:

1. Since You're Gone
2. Shake It Up
3. I'm Not The One
4. Victim Of Love
5. Cruiser
Side 2:
1. A Dream Away
2. This Could Be Love
3. Think It Over
4. Maybe Baby
Extended Material:
Side 3:

1. Since You're Gone (Early Version)*
2. Shake It Up (Demo)*
3. I'm Not The One (Remix)
4. Cruiser (Early Version)*
Side 4:
1. Take It On The Run (Early Version of "A Dream Away")*
2. Coming Up You Again (1981 Version of "Coming Up You")*
3. Little Black Egg
4. Midnight Dancer*

*Previously Unreleased

Customers Also Like