Genre: Jazz
Label: Esoteric


The Clifford Brown Box Set Hybrid Stereo Japanese Import 4SACD Box Set

Clifford Brown

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition 4-SACD Box Set! Four Superb Jazz Albums From the Emarcy Label!

This Limited Edition 4-SACD box set contains four iconic jazz albums featuring Clifford Brown including Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Jams, Clifford Brown and Max Roach, plus Study In Brown.

All albums were recorded between August 1954 and February 1955.

ESOTERIC equipment used for re-mastering: The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master. Esoteric's flag ship D/A/ converters, model D-o1VU, Rubidium master clock generator model G-0Rb and Esoteric Mexcel interconnect cables and power cords were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturing the high quality sound of the original master.

Experience by yourself: Experience the legendary performance in this new Super Audio CD/CD format. Not only for new followers, but also for well experienced followers of these recorded materials. All will be equally impressed by the "soul" hidden within the notes, but never before found in previously released recordings in any format.

Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi
Re-mastering Engineer: Masaya Higashino (JVC Mastering Center Adaikanyama Studio)
SACD Authering: Atsuo Fujita (Ef Limited)


  • Limited Edition 4-SACD Box Set
  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Made in Japan
  • Deluxe, Full-Color High-Quality Digi-pak Gatefold Packaging
  • Housed in slip-case box


MG36036 & MG36037:

  • Clifford Brown - trumpet
  • Max Roach - drums
  • Harold Land - tenor saxophone
  • George Morrow - bass
  • Richie Powell - piano
  • MG36004:

  • Sarah Vaughan, vocals
  • Clifford Brown, trumpet
  • Herbie Mann, flute
  • Paul Quinichette, tenor saxophone
  • Jimmy Jones, piano (3)
  • Joe Benjamin, bass
  • Roy Haynes, drums
  • MG36000:

  • Dinah Washington, vocals
  • Clifford Brown, trumpet
  • Maynard Ferguson, trumpet
  • Clark Terry, trumpet
  • Max Roach, drums
  • Keter Betts, bass
  • George Morrow, bass
  • Richie Powell, piano
  • Junior Mance, piano
  • Harold Land, tenor saxophone
  • Herb Geller, alto saxophone
  • Selections

    Disc 1 - Sarah Vaughan - MG36004:

    1. Lullaby of Birdland
    2. April in Paris
    3. He's My Guy
    4. Jim
    5. You're Not The Kind
    6. Embraceable You
    7. I'm Glad There Is You
    8. September Song
    9. It's Crazy

    Disc 2 - Dinah Washington - Dinah Jams - MG-36000:

    1. Lover Come Back To Me
    2. Alone Together
    3. Summertime
    4. Come Rain Or Come Shine
    5. No More
    6. I've Got You Under My Skin
    7. There Is No Greater Love
    8. You Go To My Head

    Disc 3 - Brown-Roach Quintet - Clifford Brown And Max Roach MG-36036:

    1. Delilah
    2. Parisian Thoroughfare
    3. The Blues Walk
    4. Daahoud
    5. Joy Spring
    6. Jordu
    7. What Am I Here For

    Disc 4 - Brown-Roach Quintet - Study in Brown MG-36037:

    1. Cherokee
    2. Jaqui
    3. Swingin'
    4. Lands End
    5. George's Dilemma
    6. Sandu
    7. Gerkin For Perkin
    8. If I Love Again
    9. Take The "A" Train

    Customers Also Like