Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Demon Records
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Everly Brothers Songs Our Daddy Taught Us Import 180g LP (Red Vinyl)

The Everly Brothers

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition 180g Red Vinyl LP!

The blending of Don and Phil Everly’s voices is truly one of the great sounds of post-war American popular music. Recorded for the Cadence label in Nashville in 1958, their second album “Songs Our Daddy Taught Us” could be termed an early concept album. The twelve songs (none of which were hits) were Old School country – as the title says, songs known to Don and Phil’s father – which celebrated the timeless quality of the music in an era when such celebrations might have been regarded as a retrograde step. It also anticipates the US Folk Revival that was soon to come.

Don Everly explained why they chose to record the album: “I knew we would be leaving Cadence, and I wanted the last album to be something musically that I loved, but I didn’t want them to have any possible singles which they would have kept releasing (to) interfere with our career. I suggested ‘Songs Our Daddy Taught Us’, and everyone went for it. It touched what folk music ought to be – country folk music, songs people would sing sitting on the porch. It’s got class and it ages really well.” In 2013, Green Day front man Billy Joe Armstrong teamed up with Norah Jones to re-record ‘Songs Our Daddy Taught Us’, released under the title Foreverly, highlighting the generation-spanning appeal of these songs.

Issued in a faithful reproduction of the original LP sleeve, the inner sleeve features annotation by Alan Robinson. The record is pressed on 180 gram red vinyl.


  • Limited Edition
  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • Red Vinyl
  • Import
  • Manufactured in the EU


Side 1:

  1. Roving Gambler
  2. Down In The Willow Garden
  3. Long Time Gone
  4. Lightning Express
  5. That Silver Haired Daddy Of Mine
  6. Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet

Side 2:

  1. Barbara Allen
  2. Oh So Many Years
  3. I'm Here To Get My Baby Out Of Jail
  4. Rockin' Alone In An Old Rockin' Chair
  5. Kentucky
  6. Put My Little Shoes Away

Customers Also Like