Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Paul Hester
Format: 33RPM,


The Finn Brothers Finn 180g 2LP

The Finn Brothers

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Special Expanded Edition on 180g Double LP!
First Time Ever on Vinyl!
Cut at Abbey Road by Miles Showell!
Pressed at The Vinyl Factory!

Needle Mythology reissues a special expanded album edition of Finn, the album by New Zealand's most celebrated musical siblings Tim and Neil Finn, to acclaim both from critics and longtime fans. This is the first time Finn has received a vinyl release.

Released in close collaboration with Tim and Neil, the newly expanded Finn comes with an entire album, The Finn Demos, which gathers together ten songs from 1989's legendary Murchison St. sessions, remastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios. Convening at Neil's new Melbourne apartment with a view to making an album together, Tim and Neil embarked on an intensely productive period, writing several songs that would briefly result in Tim joining Crowded House for the resulting Woodface album.

Assisted by the late Paul Hester on drums, the demos capture a host of songs that would go on to be played in arenas around the world: "It's Only Natural," "Catherine Wheels," "Weather with You," featuring a whole extra verse and the previously unreleased "Four-Stepping in 3/4 Time."

For this release, longtime fan and collaborator on Neil's 7 Worlds Collide project, Ed O'Brien (Radiohead) contributed liner notes, hymning the album's "heavy" beauty and its "elemental energy." Featuring brand-new artwork designed by Needle Mythology's James Gosling, the expanded Finn features newly unearthed images of Tim and Neil taken by Darryl Ward during the sessions for the album. For this release, Tim and Neil have also shared the "listening notes" submitted by the brothers' parents - something they would do for every song their sons wrote.

For Finn, Tim and Neil enlisted the services of Tchad Blake, whose "feel"-based approach brought out the best in the brothers, who played every instrument on the record. Writing about the record for Mojo at the time, David Hepworth characterized Finn as a "warm and loose record" that hardcore fans would undoubtedly "adore."

Originally released on Parlophone Records, Finn spawned an unlikely top 30 hit, the mesmerizing, semi-improvised psych-rock fan favorite "Suffer Never."

The expanded double album edition of Finn has been cut at Abbey Road by Miles Showell and pressed on 180g vinyl at The Vinyl Factory.

Of this release, Needle Mythology co-founder Pete Paphides says, "As a lifelong fan of the Finn brothers' music in all its incarnations, I'm grateful that Tim and Neil have given us the opportunity to re-present their work to the world in a manner that befits the magic of these sessions. The experience of hearing these songs emerge from the speakers at Abbey Road is one I'll never forget."

Finn is a moody, atmospheric album that shows a more spontaneous and experimental side with the brothers playing all of the instruments, including ukuleles, Chamberlain keyboards, mellotron, and tea chest bass. Though most projects of this nature get hung up on the 'concept,' this one succeeds because the Finns' pop songwriting sense allows the songs to come first....[T]he material on this album is among the pair's finest, together or apart.
-Chris Woodstra,, 4.5/5 stars
This is the record I most needed at the time I most needed to hear it.
-Ed O'Brien


  • Special Expanded Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • First Time Ever on Vinyl
  • Released in Close Collaboration with Tim & Neil Finn
  • Original Album Cut at Abbey Road Studios by Miles Showell
  • The Finn Demos - Murchison St. Sessions Remastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios
  • Pressed at The Vinyl Factory
  • Previously Unreleased Track
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Liner Notes by Ed O'Brien of Radiohead
  • Brand-New Artwork by James Gosling
  • Newly Unearthed Images
  • "Listening Notes" from the Brothers' Parents


LP1 - Original Album

Side One:
  1. Only Talking Sense
  2. Eyes of the World
  3. Mood Swinging Man
  4. Last Day of June
  5. Suffer Never
  6. Angel's Heap
Side Two:
  1. Niwhai
  2. Where Is My Soul
  3. Bullets in My Hairdo
  4. Paradise (Wherever You Are)
  5. Kiss the Road of Rarotonga

LP2 - The Finn Demos

Side One:
  1. Catherine Wheels
  2. Prodigal Son
  3. Four-Stepping in 3/4 Time
  4. There Goes God
  5. It's Only Natural
Side Two:
  1. Weather with You
  2. Strangeness & Charm
  3. Four Seasons in One Day
  4. In Love with It All
  5. How Will You Go

Customers Also Like