Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Giovanni Guidi Trio Tomorrow Never Knows Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Giovanni Guidi Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Piano Trio on SACD!

Italian jazz pianist Giovanni Guidi was born in Foligno in 1985. While attending the Siena summer seminars, he was noticed by Enrico Rava, who placed him in the Rava Under 21 group, which later became Rava New Generation. With this latter group he recorded three CDs for l'Espresso in 2006, 2010 and 2016. His first album as a leader is Tomorrow Never Knows, recorded by the Japanese label Venus, receiving five stars in a review by the Swing Journal magazine.

"I heard 21-year-old Giovanni Guidi at the Umbria Jazz Festival in Perugia last July, and was knocked out by his combination of advanced creativity and impulsive fearlessness. With the passage of time, you always wonder whether a player is as good as your first impression, and if so, whether a record can capture it. Guidi's debut recording is here, and the answer is yes on both counts. He has the instincts to find great hidden material like Krzysztof Komeda's 'Sleep Safe and Warm' (from the film Rosemary's Baby), and the maturity to feel the darkness between its silences. In Perugia he did several Ornette Coleman tunes, and here he takes 'Turnaround' and smokes it. Guidi's standards do not come from the traditional songbook but from places like Björk ('Jóga' is perfect for him, a hovering unresolved melody on which he can float and ascend) and Radiohead ('Motion Picture Soundtrack' is a stasis that deceptively evolves) and, especially, Lennon/McCartney. His versions of 'Norwegian Wood' and the album's title track are anything but reverent, submerging the former in his own details and fracturing and spattering the latter... Tomorrow Never Knows is a stunning start." - Thomas Conrad, JazzTimes (2007)

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Giovanni Guidi, piano
Freancesco Ponticelli, bass
Emanuele Maniscalco, drums

1. Sleep Safe And Warm
2. Turnaround
3. Joga
4. By This River
5. Back In The USSR
6. Begatto's Kitchen
7. Tomorrow Never Knows
8. Bella
9. Motion Picture Soundtrack
10. Norwegian Wood
11. Duff
12. Alice In Neverland
13. Girotondo Per Francis

Recorded at The House Recording Studio in Rome on January 5 & 6, 2006

Customers Also Like