Genre: Pop Rock
Label: BMG
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Kinks Soap Opera LP

The Kinks

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

The Kinks' 14th Studio Album on Vinyl LP!
Mastered for Vinyl by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!

The Kinks' fourteenth studio album, from 1975, and a continuation of the band's theatrical musical style from Preservation Acts 1 & 2.

Soap Opera is the grandest concept album the Kinks ever made, in which Ray Davies tackled the topic of how "ordinary people" escape the doldrums with dreams of stardoms. In it, a musician called "Starmaker" swaps lives with an ordinary man named Norman to better understand life.

Standout tracks are "A Face in the Crowd," "Underneath the Neon Sign" and the excellent "You Can't Stop the Music."

A faithfully reproduced gatefold heavyweight black 1LP, this is the album's first re-press since the limited edition U.S. pressing in 2008.

Another successful release, especially in the United States where it charted at #45.


  • Heavyweight Vinyl
  • First Time on Vinyl Since 2008
  • Analogue Mastering for Vinyl by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, CA, Supervised by Andrew Sandoval
  • Original Artwork Replicated
  • Re-issue Artwork by Mick Rimmer
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Manufactured in France


Side One:

  1. Everybody's a Star (Starmaker)
  2. Ordinary People
  3. Rush Hour Blues
  4. Nine to Five
  5. When Work Is Over
  6. Have Another Drink

Side Two:

  1. Underneath the Neon Sign
  2. Holiday Romance
  3. You Make It All Worthwhile
  4. Ducks on the Wall
  5. (A) Face in the Crowd
  6. You Can't Stop the Music

Customers Also Like