Genre: Pop Rock
Label: UMC
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Moody Blues In Search of the Lost Chord 180g LP (Psychedelic Splatter Vinyl)

The Moody Blues

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited 50th Anniversary Edition On 180g Psychedelic Splatter Vinyl LP!

2021 Stereophile Magazine Record to Die For!

Originally released in 1968, this was the second Moody Blues album to feature Justin Hayward and John Lodge. In Search of the Lost Chord is a concept album around a broad theme of quest and discovery, including world exploration ("Dr. Livingstone, I Presume"), music and philosophy through the ages ("House of Four Doors"), lost love ("The Actor"), and spiritual development.

Never a big Moody Blues fan, on a whim I picked up a cheaply priced used copy of In Search of the Lost Chord. I liked it a lot more than I expected to. It's a late '60s concept album, a concept I dig when done right. It's electric-guitar-driven, but it includes 33 different instruments; it sounds ambitiously Beatles-esque in some places, brimming with youthful energy and ideas of a band on the cusp of greatness. The music offers lush, eardrum-caressing vocals and brilliantly inventive moments - darned if the intensifying, 45-second album opener, 'Departure,' a poem written and recited by band drummer Graeme Edge, wasn't the perfect prelude to the classic 'Ride My See-Saw.' The LP's sound is rich and warm. The cover, by artist Phil Travers, is a striking meditation on the concept of, well, meditation.
-Robert Schryer, Stereophile Magazine Record To Die For 2021
• Limited 50th Anniversary Edition
• 180g Psychedelic Splatter Color Vinyl
• Digitally remastered
• Original artwork and packaging
• Made in Czech Republic

Side A:

1. Departure
2. Ride My See-Saw
3. Dr. Livingstone, I Presume
4. House of Four Doors (Part 1)
5. Legend of A Mind
6. House of Four Doors
Side B:
1. Voices In The Sky
2. The Best Way To Travel
3. Visions of Paradise
4. The Actor
5. The Word
6. Om

Customers Also Like