Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Friday Music
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Moody Blues In Search Of The Lost Chord 180g LP

The Moody Blues

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Audiophile Vinyl Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso From Original Deram Records Tapes!

2021 Stereophile Magazine Record to Die For!

In Search of the Lost Chord was another huge platinum plus smash for The Moody Blues and a stellar continuance of their progressive rock sound for the fans of this legendary English quintet. Featuring the original award winning lineup of Justin Hayward (lead vocals/guitars), John Lodge (lead vocals/bass), Ray Thomas (lead vocals/flutes), Mike Pinder (lead vocals/keyboards) and Graeme Edge (drums/vocals), In Search of the Lost Chord is undoubtedly one of their biggest selling albums and also one of the finest offerings in their huge catalog.

Buoyed by the success of the hit single Ride My See-Saw, their definitive follow up to Days of Future Passed (FRMLP1801), In Search of the Lost Chord was filled with more hypnotic rockers like the powerful Ray Thomas classic Legend of a Mind, John Lodge’s masterpiece House of Four Doors, plus the legendary Justin Hayward’s prog-rock champion Voices in the Sky.

The wonderful release also features a fine array of songs from vocalist and keyboard whiz Mike Pinder including the acid rock sounds of The Best Way to Travel and the album’s stellar closer Om, as well as the ever talented Graeme Edge’s distinctive drum work throughout the LP and his lyrical prowess with the album’s well known classics The Word and Departure.

The beauty of this album is that you could always count on a classic listen from these five gentlemen of song. Featuring Ray Thomas’ striking vocals and flute delivery, Justin Hayward’s and John Lodge’s guitars and vocal acumen, the magic of Mike Pinder on the keys and classic vocal, plus Graeme Edge’s powerful drum and singing, In Search of the Lost Chord became the album of choice for radio programmers in 1968. All in all, a hypnotic and spirited set from this very important and much loved classic rock band.

This amazing album has been out of print on vinyl for many years, that is until now...

Friday Music is very honored to continue another installment in their Moody Blues 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Series with their masterpiece In Search of the Lost Chord. Mastered impeccably from the original Deram Records tapes by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios, this album is truly a thrilling first time 180 Gram audiophile vinyl release.

For this special limited edition, Friday Music has also included the original full color album cover in gatefold style for the first time since it was released in 1968, complete with the great music you will always remember from this historic classic.

In Search of the Lost Chord from The Moody Blues...on impeccable first time 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl...exclusively from your friends at Friday Music.

Never a big Moody Blues fan, on a whim I picked up a cheaply priced used copy of In Search of the Lost Chord. I liked it a lot more than I expected to. It's a late '60s concept album, a concept I dig when done right. It's electric-guitar-driven, but it includes 33 different instruments; it sounds ambitiously Beatles-esque in some places, brimming with youthful energy and ideas of a band on the cusp of greatness. The music offers lush, eardrum-caressing vocals and brilliantly inventive moments - darned if the intensifying, 45-second album opener, 'Departure,' a poem written and recited by band drummer Graeme Edge, wasn't the perfect prelude to the classic 'Ride My See-Saw.' The LP's sound is rich and warm. The cover, by artist Phil Travers, is a striking meditation on the concept of, well, meditation.
-Robert Schryer, Stereophile Magazine Record To Die For 2021
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered Impeccably by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios
• Mastered From Original Deram Records Tapes
• First time 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Original full color album cover in gatefold jacket

Side One:

1. Departure
2. Ride My See-Saw
3. Dr. Livingstone, I Presume
4. House of Four Doors
5. Legend of a Mind
6. House of Four Doors (Part 2)
Side Two:
1. Voices In the Sky
2. The Best Way to Travel
3. Visions of Paradise
4. The Actor
5. The Word
6. Om

Customers Also Like