Genre: Pop Rock
Label: 4AD
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Mountain Goats The Sunset Tree LP

The Mountain Goats

Availability: Preorder
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Coming December 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

The Mountain Goats' 9th Studio Album on Vinyl LP!

John Darnielle is one of the most imaginative lyricists of his generation. Since he sat down cross-legged with an acoustic guitar in front of a boom box and pressed record for the first time - more than a decade ago - skewed characters, vibrant images and perfectly framed narratives have flowed in the hundreds. In that time, he has conjured - from laconic, blazing phrases - insights into a multitude of vivid alternative realities. He has inhabited the minds of murderers and suicides, prophets and emperors. He has documented a disintegrating, alcoholic marriage (in the "Alpha" series), the inner lives of teenage metal fans ("The Best Ever Death Metal Band in Denton") and the final moments of prehistoric sacrificial victims ("Tollund Man"). He has even brought to life a world so improbably perfect that the Chicago Cubs could win a World Series ("Cubs in Five").


  • Vinyl LP
  • Standard Jacket
  • 2008 Release


Side One:

  1. You or Your Memory
  2. Broom People
  3. This Year
  4. Dilaudid
  5. Dance Music
  6. Dinu Lipatti's Bones
  7. Up the Wolves

Side Two:

  1. Lion's Teeth
  2. Hast Thou Considered the Tetrapod
  3. Magpie
  4. Song for Dennis Brown
  5. Love Love Love
  6. Pale Green Things

Customers Also Like