Genre: Pop Rock


The Paul Butterfield Blues Band The Paul Butterfield Blues Band Numbered Limited Edition Hybrid Stereo SACD

The Paul Butterfield Blues Band

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out Of Print! Only a few copies available!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!

In the early '60s, the prevailing wisdom was that the blues was a music based on the shared experience of African Americans. In 1965, Paul Butterfield broke that color barrier. the Butterfield Blues Band debut album became an instant favorite among blues aficionados. Rolling Stone Magazine includes the recording among the 500 greatest albums of all time. Downbeat magazine ranks the album at #11 on the list of Greatest Blues Albums.

Butterfield teamed up with guitarists Elvin Bishop and Mike Bloomfield, added Mark Naftalin on organ and hi-jacked Jerome Arnold on bass and Sam Lay on drums from Howlin' Wolf's band. The music that pours from this album is unfiltered, clamored, and let loose, like blues music is supposed to be and played with an intensity and pure passion in every bent note. In front of all these instruments is Butterfield's harmonica, beautifully dictating a mood and a genuine feel that set the standard for harmonica-blowing vocalists.

The album features a mix of folk, rock, psychedelia, and even Indian classical music played over an embedded base of good old Chicago blues. Each song captures the essence of "Authentic Chicago Blues" in a different way, from the back-alley feel of "Born In Chicago" to the melting ease of Willie Dixon's "Mellow Down Easy" to the authentic devotion that emanates from Bishop and Butterfield's 'Our Love Is Drifting". "Shake Your Money Maker", "Blues With a Feeling", and "I Got My Mojo Working" (with Lay on vocals) are equally moving pieces.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

1. Born In Chicago
2. Shake Your Money-Maker
3. Blues With a Feeling
4. Thank You Mr. Poobah
5. I Got My Mojo Working (feat. Sam Lay on vocals)
6. Mellow Down Easy
7. Screamin'
8. Our Love Is Drifting
9. Mystery Train
10. Last Night
11. Look Over Yonders Wall

Customers Also Like