Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Third Man
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Raconteurs Help Us Stranger LP

The Raconteurs

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Video Sample!

Grammy Award-Winning Rock Band's 3rd Studio Album on Vinyl LP!
Featuring A Cover Of Donovan's "Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness)"!

The Raconteurs – Jack White, Brendan Benson, Jack Lawrence, and Patrick Keeler – announce the release of their long-awaited new album, HELP US STRANGER, which is the GRAMMY® Award-winning rock band's third studio LP and first new album in more than a decade.

HELP US STRANGER sees the mighty combo reassembled, stronger and perhaps even more vital than ever before as they continue to push rock 'n' roll forward into its future, bonding prodigious riffs, blues power, sinewy psychedelia, Detroit funk, and Nashville soul via Benson and White's uncompromising songcraft and the band's steadfast musical muscle. With HELP US STRANGER, The Raconteurs have returned right when they are needed most, unified and invigorated with boundless ambition, infinite energy and a collectivist spirit operating at the peak of its considerable powers, once again creating a sound and fury only possible when all four of its members come together.

White and Benson wrote all the songs on HELP US STRANGER except one cover, "Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness)", which was written by Donovan. Recorded at Third Man Studio in Nashville, TN, the album was produced by The Raconteurs and engineered by Joshua V. Smith. Longtime friends and musical collaborators helped make HELP US STRANGER, including keyboardist/multi-instrumentalist Dean Fertita (The Dead Weather, Queens of the Stone Age) and Lillie Mae Rische and her sister Scarlett Rische. The album was mixed by Vance Powell and The Raconteurs at Blackbird Studios in Nashville.

"It doesn't feel like that long since the group's sophomore set because the ease with which they fall into these songs, picking up where they left off on 2008's Consolers Of The Lonely, shows the four piece has a connection that may transcend the music. From the throbbing Led Zeppelin-styled hard rock of 'Don't Bother Me' (complete with short drum solo), to the following Elton John/10cc influenced piano ballad 'Shine The Light On Me' and the riff-rawk driven 'What's Yours is Mine,' these four guys play together like a well-oiled machine, not one that has been idle for a decade. Sure, Jack White is a busy guy. But based on the quality of the music he makes with his Raconteurs buddies on Help Us Stranger, here's hoping he won't go another ten years before delivering its follow-up." - American Songwriter, 4/5

"There's nothing that White and Benson have cooked up on Help Me Stranger that sounds like genre-reliant clock-punching; instead, they make playing around in the classic-rock sandbox sound like so much fun that you have to wonder why it took them eleven years to get back in the habit together. Hopefully, next time around they'll make a point of getting together again sooner." - Stereogum

"Always Jack White's most melodic project, his partnership with Brendan Benson's bubblegum pop and the Greenhornes rhythm section makes for a bracingly addictive listen. Opening with the stabbing guitar lines of 'Bored And Razed' the record plunges into ragged acoustic strut on near title cut 'Help Me Stranger' before seguing into the pensive, palatial Benson-sung 'Only Child'. Picking up exactly where they left off, The Raconteurs' denim-clad early '70s reference points are in check, delivered in gleeful, exuberant, electrifying fashion. 'Sunday Driver' is a Led Zep stomper, while heavy duty Donovan cover 'Hey Gyp' is a barn-storming freakbeat fuzz-out. 'What's Yours Is Mine' is a sleazy Deep Purple workout aided by a curious cowbell, but closer 'Thoughts And Prayers' is a violin-aided hoedown worthy of a place on Led Zeppelin III. Its gloriously unkempt charm seems to sum up the album as a whole - purely and simply the sound of a group of musicians having the absolute time of their lives." -, 8/10

• Vinyl LP
• Pressed in Detroit

Side A:

1. Bored And Razed
2. Help Me Stranger
3. Only Child
4. Don't Bother Me
5. Shine The Light On Me
6. Somedays (I Don't Feel Like Trying)
Side B:
7. Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness)
8. Sunday Driver
9. Now That You're Gone
10. Live A Lie
11. What's Yours Is Mine
12. Thoughts And Prayers

Customers Also Like