Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WB Rhino
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Smiths Meat Is Murder 180g LP

The Smiths

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 296/500!

Originally released in 1985, The Smith's second album became their only number one album in the UK charts during the life of the band.

Meat Is Murder features a mix of styles including funk, rockabilly, ballad, post-punk, dance music and alternative rock and contains some of their most unusual work.

After the relative production disappointment of The Smiths' debut album, Morrissey and guitarist Johnny Marr decided to produce Meat Is Murder themselves, assisted by engineer Stephen Street.

"Morrissey cribbed lyrics from George Eliot, but guitarist Marr cited another reference: Derek and the Dominos. 'I wanted an intro that was almost as potent as 'Layla,' he said. 'When [it] plays in a club or a pub, everyone knows what it is.'" - Rolling Stone

Morrissey, vocals
Johnny Marr, guitar, piano
Andy Rourke, bass guitar
Mike Joyce, drums

• 180g Vinyl
• Remastering supervised by Johnny Marr
• Reissue of the Original U.K. version.

1. The Headmaster Ritual
2. Rusholme Ruffians
3. I Want the One I Can't Have
4. What She Said
5. That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
6. Nowhere Fast
7. Well I Wonder
8. Barbarism Begins at Home
9. Meat Is Murder

Customers Also Like