Genre: Jazz
Label: Tonian Labs


The Tonian Trio II Moon Jazz CD

The Tonian Trio II

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Reference-Quality CD Recorded & Mixed Live To Two Tracks!

With drums played by Brad Dutz, trumpet played by John Fumo and bass played by Randy Landas, the tracks on Moon Jazz were recorded and mixed live to two tracks by Tony Minasian of Tonian Labs in California.

"Tony Minasian returns to behind the purist recording console, giving us his third 16-bit 44.1kHz high-resolution effort after Hang Around and Comparing Sticks. With his modified recording equipment then refusal to indulge the usual mastering games, Tony captures the full dynamic range which his three acoustic players here on trumpet, double bass and percussion coax from their instruments. As with Minasian's earlier two productions, it once again shows how CD resolution is perfectly capable of giving us thrillingly life-like sound if the man in charge knows how to and isn't contractually obligated to pander to commercialism; or tasked to polish turds. On Moon Jazz, the tonal verity of the players is astonishing. Being fed with this much of a head start over the usual productions, even a modest system shines brightly. Particularly sundry bells, triangles, cymbals and the power of hand drums should be quite startling but likewise for the uncut trumpet. It's that peculiar startle factor when something in our bodies feels alarmed in a good way. Our frontal lobes know perfectly well that we're hearing a recording. We spun it up, we hit 'play'. Who are we kidding? Even our eyes tell us that nobody is there. Yet something inside of us buys into the illusion more fully than usual. And that creates a strange but exhiliarint frisson. Particularly when blown into a mute, a trumpet hits very high harmonics to give it that particular rusty slightly warbling or watery flavor as we here get on 'Torque' and 'The Turn'. Meanwhile the walking bass underneath is wiry yet rotund, heavy but not without overhang; and the percussion as direct as a razor blade scratching over skin looking for a hair stubble. Where at least for my tastes Moon Jazz exceeds Tony's precursors is on musical merit. This isn't just a sonically brilliant effort. Musically too it's something I'll spin up again and again." - Srajan Ebaen,

• CD
• 16-bit 44.1kHz high-resolution
• Recorded and mixed live to two tracks
• Recorded, mixed and mastered by Tony Minasian
• Jewel case

Brad Dutz, percussion
John Fumo, trumpet
Randy Landas, bass


  1. Tension For Attention
  2. Triste Perdida
  3. Breath Within Breath
  4. Temple Of Silence
  5. Improv For Dinosaurs
  6. Where Is Number Nine?
  7. Crossing Over
  8. Torque
  9. The Turn
  10. Tension For Attention tk 2

Customers Also Like