Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Rhino
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Todd Rundgren Something/Anything? 180g 2LP

Todd Rundgren

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Classic 1972 Album From Todd Rundgren Makes An Encore Appearance! Pressed at RTI On 180g Vinyl!
Mastered by Chris Bellman From Original Analog Masters at Bernie Grundman Studios!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 396/500!

This 1972 release, from Bearsville Records, was engineered by Todd Rundgren with a little help from his friends Rick Derringer, Billy Mundi, Moogy Klingman, Amos Garrett, Bugsy Maugh and Gene Didwiddie (both from the Butterfield Blues Band), the Hunt Brothers, Rick Vito, Jim Horn and the Brecker Brothers. The set contains many selections that have survived the decades, from radio perennials Hello, It's Me and I Saw the Light, to a more recent cover of Slut by the latest version of Alex Chilton's Big Star. Bottom line, this collection defines Rundgren's many talents.

"Listening to Something/Anything? is a mind-altering trip in itself, no matter how many shamelessly accessible pop songs are scattered throughout the album, since each side of the double-record is a concept unto itself. The first is "a bouquet of ear-catching melodies"; side two is "the cerebral side"; on side three "the kid gets heavy"; side four is his mock pop operetta, recorded with a full band including the Sales Brothers. It gallops through everything -- Carole King tributes ("I Saw the Light"), classic ballads ("Hello It's Me," "It Wouldn't Have Made Any Difference"), Motown ("Wolfman Jack"), blinding power pop ("Couldn't I Just Tell You"), psychedelic hard rock ("Black Maria"), pure weirdness ("I Went to the Mirror"), blue-eyed soul ("Dust in the Wind"), and scores of brilliant songs that don't fall into any particular style ("Cold Morning Light," "It Takes Two to Tango"). It's an amazing journey that's remarkably unpretentious. Rundgren peppers his writing with self-aware, self-deprecating asides, indulging his bizarre sense of humor with gross-outs ("Piss Aaron") and sheer quirkiness, such as an aural tour of the studio at the beginning of side two. There are a ton of loose ends throughout Something/Anything?, plenty of studio tricks, slight songs (but no filler), snippets of dialogue, and purposely botched beginnings, but all these throwaways simply add context -- they're what makes the album into a kaleidoscopic odyssey through the mind of an insanely gifted pop music obsessive." -, Stephen Thomas Erlewine

"Something/Anything? stands as perhaps the finest work released yet this year a blend of all conceivable colors and moods into one cohesive and constantly moving statement. After years spent standing just out of reach of the spotlight, Todd Rundgren has made his grand entrance. Perhaps Something/Anything? was consciously designed not as an exposition of genius, but as Todd's way of calling attention to himself, of saying 'Hey, it's me. I'm finally here and this time you'll remember my name.' If that's the case, then this album's primary value is as an introduction to the man adn an invitation to his future. It's an invitation that nobody can afford to pass up. Todd Rundgren's name may be worth its weight in gold, but you'll soon discover that his music is worth at least twice as much." - Ben Edmonds, Creem Magazine, 1972

"I'm probably the whitest singer in the world," Rundgren told Rolling Stone in 1972. "I have no 'soul' in the usual sense - but I can do this great feminine falsetto." On this tour-de-force double album, Rundgren employs that falsetto on two great singles in the vein of Carole King: "I Say The Light" and "Hello It's Me." For the rest of the album, he demonstrates his complete command of the studio, playing almost all the instruments himself, experimenting with a kaleidoscope of rock genres and even delivering a monologue on what poorly made records sound like, complete with examples of hiss and hum.

• 180g Vinyl
• Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman studios
• Pressed at RTI
• All original packaging including insert
• Sourced from original analog masters
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket

LP 1

1. I Saw the Light
2. It Wouldn't Have Made Any Difference
3. Wolfman Jack
4. Cold Morning Light
5. It Takes Two To Tango (This Is For the Girls)
6. Sweeter Memories
7. Breathless
8. The Night the Carousel Burnt Down
9. Waving Grace
10. Marlene
11. Song of the Viking
12. I Went to the Mirror
LP 2
1. Black Maria
2. One More Day (No More Words)
3. Couldn't I Just Tell You
4. Torch Song
5. Little Red Lights
6. Baby Needs A New Pair of Snakeskin Boots
7. Overture (My Roots)
8. Money (That What I Want)
9. Dust In the Wind
10. Piss Aaron
11. Some Folks Is Even Whiter Than Me
12. You Left Me Sore
13. Slut and Hello
14. It's Me

Customers Also Like