Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Top Topham Ascension Heights 180g LP

Top Topham

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the June 2010 Issue of Stereophile! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

English rock guitarist Anthony "Top" Topham" was one of the founders of the Yardbirds. When the group went pro, he was a mere fifteen years of age and, facing parental disapproval, he had to relinquish his post with the group to none other than Eric Clapton.

Topham would later play with Winston G alongside the likes of Marc Bolan, early Yes and Captain Beefheart.

"The object was to try and do a British Stax 'thing'. I think that "Funks Elegy" is heading in the direction I want to go - although (for me) the most satisfying track is our arrangement of 'Tuxedo Junction'." - Top Topham (in interview regarding Ascension Heights with Jerry Gilbert of Melody Maker)

"(he) liked Topham's phrasing, which is down to earth melody, over a funky beat - far away from the progressive trait (of the day). I hope this name remains at the fore, as this album is easy to get into and nice to live with. " - Jerry Gilbert, Melody Maker, 1970

"an ambitious and breathtakingly original project that 'married' blues, rock and jazz". - Mike Oldfield, 1992

"The sound is excellent late sixties stereo studio, which means instruments are heavily “box placed” left and right and phantomed dead center. Topham’s electric guitar floats thick and holographically three dimensionally well in front of the other instruments. His acoustic is closely miked, ultra-vivid and rock solid. The horns sound great, the bass lines are deep and taut and that horse hoof will “clop” its way through your skull if you crank it up too high. " - Michael Fremer,, Music 8, Sound 9

"This LP’s rarity value alone commands attention: Topham was the Yardbirds’ founder guitarist, who had to leave the band because he was only 15. By 1969, at the age of 22, he delivered this solo LP, a long-forgotten take on the blues, far removed from the Yardbirds. Despite its Blue Horizon pedigree, it’s not of the Brit Blues school per se and is a stylistic mish-mash, more akin to Andrew Loog Oldham’s covers of the Stones’ canon, but its worth to Yardbirds hard-core is unparalleled." - Ken Kessler, Hi-Fi News, Sound Quality Rating: 70%

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Limited Edition

1. Sawbuk
2. Mini-Minor-Mo
3. Hop House
4. Ridin' The Blinds]
5. Hot Ginger
6. Funks Elegy
7. Ascension Heights
8. Tuxedo Junction
9. Globetrottin'
10. Spider Drag
11. Mean Old Pullman
12. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)

Customers Also Like