Genre: Folk
Label: Fat Possum
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Townes Van Zandt For the Sake of the Song LP

Townes Van Zandt

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Vinyl Release of Classic Debut Offering from a Talent of the First Order!

Townes Van Zandt wrote songs with an uncommon grace and poetic clarity, and he sang them with a voice that was at once straightforward, eloquent, and mindful of the arid beauty of his images. A decade after Van Zandt released his first album, there would be dozens of singer/songwriters following his example, but he was a rather unusual commodity when For the Sake of the Song was released in 1968. The 11 songs on Van Zandt's debut are all fine stuff (even the throwaway novelty "Talkin' Karate Blues" at least brings a chuckle), and the emotional force with which Van Zandt delivers "(Quicksilver Daydreams of) Maria," "Tecumseh Valley," and the title tune belies the fact this was his first album. For the Sake of the Song remains a classic debut. These songs make clear that Van Zandt's genius was already fully formed and as both a composer and a performer he was a man of rare gifts; even when the backing threatens to drown him out, his gifts come shining through, and For the Sake of the Song was an auspicious debut offering from a talent of the first order.


  • 150g Vinyl
  • Limited-Time Free MP3 Download of Entire Album


Side One:

  1. For the Sake of the Song
  2. Tecumseh Valley
  3. Many a Fine Lady
  4. Quick Silver Daydreams of Maria
  5. Waitin' Around to Die

Side Two:

  1. I'll Be There in the Morning
  2. Sad Cinderella
  3. The Velvet Voices
  4. Talkin' Karate Blues
  5. All Your Young Servants
  6. Sixteen Summers, Fifteen Falls

Customers Also Like