Genre: Folk
Label: Fat Possum
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Townes Van Zandt Our Mother the Mountain 50th Anniversary LP

Townes Van Zandt

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl LP!

Widely considered one of the greatest songwriters of his generation, Townes Van Zandt has been hailed by such signers as Steve Earle, Emmylou Harris and Willie Nelson. Van Zandt's most prolific (and most critically acclaimed) decade was from 1969 and 1978, and includes Our Mother the Mountain.

The second album by Townes Van Zandt, Our Mother the Mountain was released in 1969 and is generally acknowledged as his first masterpiece. Produced by Jack Clement, it contains 11 sorrowful and soulful tunes showcasing some of Van Zandt's best work. This 50th anniversary pressing includes authenticated lyrics on the innersleeve and is pressed on 180g vinyl. The weight and beauty of these songs are still standing tall against time.


  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • Remastered by Jason Ward, Chicago Mastering
  • Tip-on jacket
  • Lyrics included
  • Obi strip


Townes Van Zandt guitar, vocals
James Burton dobro, guitar
Mike Deasy Sr. guitar
Jack Clement guitar
David Cohen guitar
Don Randi keyboards
Jules Jacob flute
Ben Bennay harmonica
Charlie McCoy bass, guitar, harmonica, keyboards
Harvey Newmark bass
Lyle Ritz bass
Chuck Domanico bass
John Clauder drums
Donald Frost drums


  1. Be Here to Love Me
  2. Kathleen
  3. She Came And She Touched Me
  4. Like A Summer Thursday
  5. Our Mother The Mountain
  6. Second Lovers Song
  7. St. John The Gambler
  8. Tecumseh Valley
  9. Snake Mountain Blues
  10. My Proud Mountains
  11. Why She's Acting This Way

Customers Also Like