Genre: Soundtrack
Label: Sony


A City Of Sadness Soundtrack K2 HD Import CD

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
24-Bit/100kHz Mastering! This K2 HD Mastering CD will play on ALL CD players!

This recording has been mastered by the K2 HD format of 24-bit 100kHz, which creates an unbelievable sound surpassing other formats!

This is the soundtrack album for A City of Sadness, a film directed by Hou Hsiao-hsien which was awarded the Grand Prix at 1989 Venezia International Film Festival. It is the first Taiwanese film to broach the subject of the most traumatic experience in the nation's history, the February 28 Incident. This was a 1947 massacre by the Nationalist Party (still today's ruling party in Taiwan) which resulted in 18,000 to 28,000 casualties.

"The opening title track has a lovely melody heard on some sort of electronic instrument over deep and dramatic drumming. It reminded me of Kitaro’s music. After a short flute solo there is a lyrical theme on piano accompanied by synth strings. The track titled Hiromi returns to the soaring melody over dramatic percussion and sounds exactly like Kitaro. The final, dedicated track is a compelling theme featuring a guitar-like instrument as well as various synth sounds." - John Sunier,

• Limited Edition
• K2 HD 100kHz / 24-bit Mastering
• Made in Japan
• Includes Clear Protective Outer Sleeve

1. A City of Sadness
2. Hiromi (Flute Solo)
3. Theme of Bunsei
4. A City of Sadness ~ Variation 1
5. Theme of Hiromi
6. A City of Sadness ~ Variation 2
7. Gallantry (Dedicated to Hou Hsiao-hsien)

Customers Also Like