Genre: Metal
Label: Rhino
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Black Sabbath Technical Ecstasy Super Deluxe Edition 180g 5LP Box Set

Black Sabbath

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Super Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set!
Newly Remastered Original Album + Brand-New Steven Wilson Mix!
Includes Over 90 Minutes Of Unreleased Material!

Black Sabbath embraced change in 1976 when the heavy metal innovators started managing themselves and began exploring different sounds on the band's seventh studio album, Technical Ecstasy. The record reached #13 in the U.K. and was certified gold in the U.S.

Rhino is honoring this daring album with a collection that includes a newly remastered version of the original, a brand-new mix by Steven Wilson, plus more than 90 minutes of previously unreleased outtakes, alternative mixes and live tracks.

In the summer of 1976, Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Bill Ward headed to Miami to record Technical Ecstasy at the famed Criteria Studios. The band was coming off a world tour for their previous album, Sabotage, that had found their live performances evolving to include keyboards and synthesizers. These newly incorporated instruments and sounds were then introduced into the recording process on Technical Ecstasy. The new songs encompassed a wide range of styles from the hard charging "Back Street Kids" and ballad "It's Alright," to the funky "All Moving Parts (Stand Still)" and progressive "Gypsy." The album also featured the single "It's Alright," which was the first Sabbath song to feature lead vocals by Ward. The Deluxe Edition presents a newly remastered version of the eight-track album, along with an entirely new mix of the album created by Steven Wilson using the original analog tapes.

Technical Ecstasy: Super Deluxe Edition comes with eight previously unreleased outtakes and alternative mixes. Among those are different mixes of "You Won't Change Me" and "Rock 'n' Roll Doctor," as well as both outtake and instrumental versions for "She's Gone." The collection concludes with 10 previously unreleased live tracks recorded during the 1976-77 Technical Ecstasy World Tour. The songs touch on different eras of the band's history with early tracks like "Black Sabbath" and "War Pigs" alongside new songs "Gypsy" and "Dirty Women."

The collection comes with an extensive booklet featuring artwork, liner notes, rare memorabilia and photos from the era, plus a replica of the 1976-77 world tour concert book and a large color poster.

According to bassist Geezer Butler, 1978's Technical Ecstasy was 'the beginning of the end' for Black Sabbath as the band struggled to deal with a legal battle between their former manager, the shifting tides of rock music and their own demons. Out of that entropy came one of Sabbath's most fascinating albums. Recorded in Miami, Ecstasy found the band further steering out of the darkness of their previous work with the help of a keyboardist and an openness to softer textures. It has become one of the more divisive entries in the Sabbath catalog, a feeling that is not going to change with the release of this massive boxed set. It's an interesting collection that includes a remix of the album by Steven Wilson that gives the quieter material some breathing room and tightens up the heavier tunes. Start there and then move onto the live album. Sabbath continued to bring the fury in concert and this set is a great example of that. The more tempered approach to the music on Ecstasy bleeds over onto classics like 'War Pigs' and 'Children of the Grave' with eye-opening results.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Super Deluxe Edition
  • 5LP Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Original album newly remastered
  • 2LPs of new mixes & alternative versions mixed by Steven Wilson
  • 2LP live concert recording from the 1976-77 world tour
  • More than 90 Minutes of Previously Unreleased Material
  • Replica 1976-77 World Tour concert book
  • 40-page book with photos, artwork & liner notes
  • Color poster
  • Box with lift-off lid
  • Made in Germany


Lyn Stanley vocals
John Chiodini guitar
Chuck Berghofer bass
Mike Lang piano
Luis Conte percussion
Aaron Serfaty drums


LP1 - Technical Ecstasy (2021 Remaster)

Side One:
  1. Back Street Kids
  2. You Won't Change Me
  3. It's Alright
  4. Gypsy
Side Two:
  1. All Moving Parts (Stand Still)
  2. Rock 'n' Roll Doctor
  3. She's Gone
  4. Dirty Women

LP2 - New Mix (Except *)

Side Three:
  1. Back Street Kids
  2. You Won't Change Me
  3. It's Alright - Mono Single*
  4. Gypsy
Side Four:
  1. All Moving Parts (Stand Still)
  2. Rock 'n' Roll Doctor
  3. She's Gone
  4. Dirty Women

LP3 - Outtakes & Alternative Mixes

Side Five:
  1. Back Street Kids
  2. You Won't Change Me
  3. Gypsy
  4. All Moving Parts (Stand Still)
Side Six:
  1. Rock 'n' Roll Doctor
  2. She's Gone
  3. Dirty Women (Outtake Version)
  4. She's Gone (Instrumental Mix)

LP4 - Live World Tour 1976-77 - Part One

Side Seven:
  1. Symptom Of The Universe
  2. War Pigs
  3. Gypsy
Side Eight:
  1. Black Sabbath
  2. All Moving Parts (Stand Still)

LP5 - Live World Tour 1976-77 - Part Two

Side Nine:
  1. Dirty Women
  2. Drum Solo / Guitar Solo
Side Ten:
  1. Electric Funeral
  2. Snowblind
  3. Children Of The Grave

Customers Also Like