Genre: Classical
Label: Decca
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Byron Janis Plays Moussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition (Mercury Living Presence Series) Half-Speed Mastered LP

Byron Janis

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Part of the Mercury Living Presence Audiophile Series!
Half-Speed Mastered Vinyl LP!
First Time on Vinyl!
Precision HD Transfers of the Original First-Generation Tapes!

Long hailed as the audiophile's label, Mercury Living Presence represents an important milestone in the history of classical recording. Since they were first released, Mercury Living Presence LP records have been collected and coveted and 70 years after the label's first release - Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, with Rafael Kubelík conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Mercury continues to be admired for the quality of its artistry and recordings: all celebrated for their sheer vividness of sound. This audiophile series sources the original first-generation master tapes. New HD transfers were made at Abbey Road Studios. Master files, including new 3-to-2 mixes for stereo titles, were produced by Thomas Fine, son of the original producer and recording engineer for the majority of Mercury Living Presence titles. Janis's virtuoso recording, originally released on CD in 1994, finally gets its vinyl due. Recorded in Fine Recording Ballroom Studio A, September 25-29, 1961 with three Schoeps M201 microphones.


  • The Mercury Living Presence Series
  • Audiophile Vinyl
  • Half-Speed Mastered
  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Precision HD Transfers by Jared Hawkes Made at Abbey Road Studios from the Original First-Generation Tapes
  • New 3-to-2 Stereo Mixes Produced by Thomas Fine
  • Half-Speed LP Mastering by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios
  • Made in the EU


Byron Janis piano
Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra
Antal Dorati conductor


Modest Mussorgsky (1839 - 1881)

Pictures at an Exhibition
Side 1:
  1. Promenade. Allegro giusto, nel modo rustico, se
  2. Gnomus. Sempre vivo
  3. Promenade. Moderato commodo assai e con delicat
  4. The Old Castle
  5. Promenade. Moderato non tanto, pesamente
  6. The Tuileries Gardens
  7. Bydlo Sempre moderato, pesante
  8. Promenade Tranquillo
  9. Ballet of the Chickens in Their Shells
Side 2:
  1. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle
  2. The Market-Place at Limoges
  3. The Catacombs (Sepulchrum romanum)
  4. Con mortuis in lingua mortua
  5. The Hut on Fowl's Legs (Baba-Yaga)
  6. The Great Gate of Kiev

Customers Also Like