Genre: Classical
Label: Decca
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Rafael Kubelik Pictures At An Exhibition (Mercury Living Presence Series) Half-Speed Mastered LP

Rafael Kubelik & The Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Part Of The Mercury Living Presence Series, A New Audiophile Series!
Half-Speed Mastered Vinyl LP!
Precision HD Transfers Of The Original First-Generation Tapes!

Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, arranged by Ravel, with Rafael Kubelik conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Recorded in the Eastman Theatre in Rochester, NY, on October 28, 1956, with a Schoeps M201 microphone in the center and Neumann U-47s on the left and right sides. Decca Classics presents the Mercury Living Presence Series, a new audiophile series of vinyl mastered at half-speed and featuring precision HD transfers of the original first-generation tapes.

A Note About Listening Levels
Mercury Living Presence recordings are highly dynamic, pushing the technical capabilities of the original recording equipment to the limit. In a modern setting, especially in the context of a Half-Speed Mastered LP, the full dynamic range on the tapes makes its way to the grooves.

This may require the listener to turn up the system volume to a higher level than they may be accustomed to.

All efforts were made to present these discs on quiet, high-quality vinyl, so listening at "concert hall levels" should not include an objectionable increase in background surface noise.

Turn it up, experience the 3D sound field, and enjoy the lifelike dynamics; put yourself in the Living Presence of the music!


  • The Mercury Living Presence Series
  • Audiophile Vinyl
  • Half-Speed Mastered at Abbey Road Studios
  • Precision HD Transfers from the Original First-Generation Tapes
  • Made in Germany


The Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Rafael Kubelik conductor


Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky (1839-1881)
Orchestrated by Maurice Ravel

Side A:
  1. Promenade I
  2. Gnomus
  3. Promenade II
  4. The Old Castle
  5. Promenade III
  6. The Tuileries Gardens
  7. Bydlo
  8. Promenade IV
  9. Ballet Of The Chickens In Their Shells
Side B:
  1. Two Polish Jews - Rich And Poor
  2. Limoges - The Market Place
  3. The Catacombs (Sepulchrum romanum)
  4. Cum mortuis in lingua mortua
  5. The Hut On Fowl's Legs
  6. The Great Gate At Kiev