Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Parlophone
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Brian Eno
Format: 33RPM,


David Bowie 1. Outside (The Nathan Adler Diaries: A Hyper-cycle) 2LP

David Bowie

$29.99 $34.99
(You save $5.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Bowie's 20th Studio Album on Double LP!

By 1994, Bowie and Eno were again collaborating in the studio. The result was the concept album Outside, released in 1995 as the first installment of a new deal with Virgin Records. The complex project explored the increasing obsession with the mutilation of the human body as art and the paganization of western society. With cut-and-paste lyrics drawing from the diary of fictional character Nathan Adler, a haunted sound of ruin soundtracking a non-linear storyline of art, murder and technology, Outside predated a new darker sensibility that would pervade not only music, but film, literature and the arts in general in the very near future. Appropriately, the album's first single, "The Hearts Filthy Lesson," showed up in the soundtrack of one of the darkest films to cross over into the mainstream of that year in David Fincher's Seven - while two years later, edits of deep cut "I'm Deranged" would bookend David Lynch's Lost Highway as both opening title and end credits music.

The Outside tour actually began a few weeks before the album's release, exacerbating the already confrontational scenario of playing with Nine Inch Nails; in addition to avoiding the monster hits that had been laid to rest five years earlier on Sound + Vision, the first few weeks saw Bowie and band playing sets dominated by an as-yet-unreleased album. Hardly unusual for Bowie, the tour is regarded in hindsight as bold and unprecedented, from the overlapping transition that meshed NIN and Bowie's performances to its unearthed treasures including "Joe the Lion" from "Heroes" and a radically rearranged "The Man Who Sold the World." 1995 also saw Bowie make one of many successful forays into the art world, with an acclaimed exhibition at London's Cork Street Gallery.


  • Double LP
  • 2021 Remaster
  • Made in Germany


Side 1:

  1. Leon Takes Us Outside
  2. Outside
  3. The Hearts Filthy Lesson
  4. A Small Plot of Land

Side 2:

  1. Segue - Baby Grace (A Horrid Cassette)
  2. Hallo Spaceboy
  3. The Motel
  4. I Have Not Been to Oxford Town

Side 3:

  1. No Control
  2. Segue - Algeria Touchschriek
  3. The Voyeur of Utter Destruction (As Beauty)
  4. Segue - Ramona A. Stone / I Am with Name
  5. Wishful Beginnings

Side 4:

  1. We Prick You
  2. Segue - Nathan Adler Pt. 1
  3. I'm Deranged
  4. Thru' These Architects Eyes
  5. Segue - Nathan Adler Pt. 2
  6. Strangers When We Meet

Customers Also Like