Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Esquivel and His Orchestra Other Worlds Other Sounds Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP

Esquivel and His Orchestra

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Pure Virgin Vinyl!
Specially Remastered For This LP!

"The King of Space Age Pop...Esquivel's use of stereo recording is legendary."

Esquivel was a Mexican band leader, pianist, and composer for television and films and widely considered the king of a style of late 1950s-early 1960s quirky instrumental pop known today as lounge music. RCA contracted with Esquivel in late 1957 and brought him to record in Hollywood in early 1958. He was given five hours of studio time to record the album "Other Worlds, Other Sounds."

His orchestration tended toward the very lush, employing novel instrumental combinations, such as Chinese bells, mariachi bands, whistling, and numerous percussion instruments, blended with orchestra, mixed chorus, and his own heavily-ornamented piano style. The chorus was called upon to sing only nonsense syllables, most famously "zu-zu" and "pow!"

The period cover of "Other Worlds, Other Sounds" says it the woman in red dancing on a moonscape, this 1958 long-player was all about fantasy. And Esquivel, wasn't afraid to fantasize about his instrumentation nor the new audio sound known as "stereophonic or Hi Fi." At the time Esquivel was using this new tech to its fullest by arranging the music in a unique manner as well as considering right channel-left channel. Voices ring back and forth between speakers, horns explode out of nowhere, and piano sounds cascade out of the stereo. This is what hi-fi was all about. It is seamless, quite enjoyable and rather magical.

• 180g Pure Virgin Vinyl
• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Specially Remastered For This LP
• Made in the U.S.A.

Side 1:

1. Granada
2. Begin The Beguine
3. Night And Day
4. Poinciana
5. Playfully
6. Adios
Side 2:
1. That Old Black Magic
2. Nature Boy
3. Magic Is The Moonlight (Te quiero dijiste)
4. Speak Low
5. Ballerina
6. It Had To Be You

Customers Also Like