Genre: Classical
Label: Premium
Format: 33RPM,


The Hi-Fi Sound Of Orchestra 180g LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Click Here for Sound Samples!

Heavy Weight 180 gram LP Audiophile Recording!

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra plays Tara's Theme, Speak Softly Love, Theme From A Summer Place, Cavatina, The Music of The Night, Moon River, Where Do I Begin, Some Enchanted Evening and more!

The Hi-Fi Sound Of Orchestra is filled with familiar, romantic numbers; performed by The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Arrangements are lush, and delivered passionately.

Formed in 1946 by flamboyant maestro Sir Thomas Beecham, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO) has enjoyed more than sixty-five years of success, giving first-class performances of a wide range of musical repertoire all over the world with artists of the highest calibre.

"Moon River" is a song composed by Henry Mancini with lyrics written by Johnny Mercer. It received an Academy Award for Best Original Song for its first performance by Audrey Hepburn in the 1961 movie Breakfast at Tiffany's. It also won Mancini the 1962 Grammy Award for Record of the Year and Mercer the Grammy Award for Song of the Year. Since its original performance, the song has been covered by many other artists. Comments about the song have noted that it is particularly reminiscent of Mercer's youth in the Southern United States. An inlet near Savannah, Georgia, Johnny Mercer's hometown, was named Moon River in honor of him and this song.

"Cavatina" is a classical guitar piece by Stanley Myers and the theme from The Deer Hunter. Following the release of The Deer Hunter in 1978, Williams' instrumental version of "Cavatina" became a UK Top 20 hit.

"Some Enchanted Evening" is a show tune from the 1949 Rodgers and Hammerstein musical South Pacific. It is the single biggest popular hit to come out of any Rodgers and Hammerstein show.

"Evergreen" is the theme song from the 1976 film A Star Is Born. It was composed and performed by Barbra Streisand with lyrics by Paul Williams, and arranged by Ian Freebairn-Smith. The song was released on the soundtrack album to A Star Is Born. Streisand earned an Academy Award for Best Original Song, her second Oscar overall, as composer of the song. With "Evergreen", Streisand also earned a Grammy Award for Song of the Year. She and Williams also won Golden Globes in the category of Best Original Song for the song.

• 180g vinyl

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

1. Where Do I Begin
2. Speak Softly Love
3. Cavatina
4. Moon River
5. Over The Rainbow
6. As Time Goes By
7. Theme From A Summer Place
8. Some Enchanted Evening
9. The Way We Were
10. Memory
11. Evergreen
12. Lara's Theme
13. Summertime
14. Send In The Clowns
15. Pachelbel's Canon
16. Tara's Theme

Customers Also Like