Genre: Blues
Label: Alligator
Format: 33RPM,


God Don't Never Change: The Songs of Blind Willie Johnson LP

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Vinyl LP Celebrates Songs of Blind Willie Johnson!
Features Lucinda Williams, Cowboy Junkies, Tom Waits, Rickie Lee Jones & More!

A stunning collection of artists and performances celebrate the timeless appeal of legendary gospel bluesman Blind Willie Johnson.

Blind Willie Johnson’s seminal songs have inspired artists like Led Zeppelin, Bob Dylan and Eric Clapton to interpret his musical vision. Produced by Jeffrey Gaskill, who helmed 2003’s Gotta Serve Somebody: The Gospel Songs Of Bob Dylan, God Don’t Never Change hits artistic pay dirt like few tribute albums have, and is brimming with outstanding performances by some of the biggest names in music. The artists are well-chosen and totally committed, and the new versions capture the raw beauty of the original recordings. There’s not a false note in the batch and moments of revelation are everywhere.

From Sinéad O’Connor’s righteous cries on “Trouble Will Soon Be Over” and Derek Trucks’ and Susan Tedeschi’s reverent reading of “Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning,” from Lucinda Williams’ slide guitar-fueled lament in “Nobody’s Fault But Mine” and Tom Waits’ virtual embodiment of Johnson himself on “John The Revelator,” this record is packed with transcendent recordings that speak as much to the greatness of the performers as they do the enduring legacy of Blind Willie Johnson.

"The tracks on God Don't Ever Change run the gamut from pop to gospel to roots music, and there's a decidedly contemporaneous feel to these songs." - Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, 4/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics

• Vinyl LP
• Includes limited time download

Side A:
1. The Soul of a Man - Tom Waits
2. It's Nobody's Fault But Mine - Lucinda Williams
3. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning - Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi
4. Jesus Is Coming Soon - Cowboy Junkies
5. Mother's Children Have A Hard Time - Blind Boys of Alabama
6. Trouble Will Soon Be Over - Sinead O'Connor

Side B:
1. Bye and Bye I'm Going To See the King - Luther Dickinson feat. The Rising Star Fife & Drum Band
2. God Don't Never Change - Lucinda Williams
3. John the Revelator - Tom Waits
4. Let Your Light Shine On me - Maria McKee
5. Dark Was the Night - Cold Was the Ground - Rickie Lee Jones

Customers Also Like