Genre: Alternative
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Golden Smog Down By the Old Mainstream Numbered Limited Edition 180g 2LP (Yellow With Red & Black Swirl Vinyl)

Golden Smog

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Strict One Time Pressing! Very Limited Quantities! Order Now Or Miss Out!
Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Transparent Yellow With Red & Black Swirl Vinyl!

A lost classic from the 1990s that includes Jeff Tweedy of Wilco, Dan Murphy of Soul Asylum and Gary Louris of the Jayhawks.

Golden Smog is a Minneapolis-based, loosely connected inter-changeable group of musicians from notable bands comprising members of Wilco, Soul Asylum, The Replacements, The Jayhawks, Run Westy Run, Big Star and the Honeydogs. Since their inception in 1989, many members have come and gone, with the following musicians having appeared on all recordings: Kraig Johnson (Run Westy Run), Dan Murphy (Soul Asylum), Gary Louris (Jayhawks) and bassist Marc Perlman (Jayhawks). The group originally played in and around Minneapolis doing mainly cover song sets as a country-rock reaction to the punk and hardcore music that dominated the region.

In 1995 they released their debut album, Down By the Old Mainstream, recorded at Pachyderm Recording Studio that was made up of mainly original material with a few covers. Drummer Chris Mars of the Replacements was gone by now and the line-up consisted of Johnson, Murphy, Louris, Perlman and two new members: Jeff Tweedy of Wilco and Honeydogs drummer Noah Levy. All members were credited under pseudonyms to avoid contractual issues with their other record companies.

• Strict One Time Pressing based on preorders received - Only 1755 pressed worldwide
• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Transparent Yellow With Red & Black Swirl Vinyl
• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Record Industry
• Tip-on gatefold aqueous gloss Stoughton sleeve

Side 1:

1. V
2. Ill Fated
3. Pecan Pie
4. Yesterday Cried
Side 2:
1. Glad & Sorry
2. Won't Be Coming Home
3. He's A Dick
Side 3:
1. Walk Where He Walked
2. Nowhere Bound
3. Friend
Side 4:
1. She Don't Have To See You
2. Red Headed Stepchild
3. Williamton Angel
4. Radio King

Customers Also Like