Genre: Folk
Label: Stockfisch


Jens Kommnick Stringed Hybrid Stereo SACD

Jens Kommnick

$19.99 $29.99
(You save $10.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Remarkable Guitarist/Instrumentalist's Fourth Album on Hybrid SACD!

Once upon a time... - fairy tales often begin with these familiar and beloved words. But only fairy tales? It can't be a coincidence that Jens Kommnick opens his new solo album Stringed with the piece "Es war einmal (Once Upon a Time)". He says "It's at least 10 years since this piece almost accidentally came into being! To my ears it sets the foundations to the opening of an atmospheric fairy tale." The composition is more than that: it's a magical prelude to a very special album...

In the lovingly designed booklet there's also the touching story of a little boy, who receives a songbook from his mother as a birthday present, so that he can learn to play the guitar. The boy musters the courage to write a letter to the author of the book and asks for an autograph. "For Jens" writes the author, Reinhard Mey, on the card, "not having any idea that this would mark the beginning of a beautiful friendship." The boy was Jens Kommnick; he later became friends with Reinhard Mey, who wrote the introduction in the booklet, recalling with his warm-hearted words this story from many years ago. In a touching gesture, Jens Kommnick has included a cover of Reinhard Mey's song "Lass nun ruhig los das Ruder" on this album.

On his way to becoming one of the most remarkable and popular guitarists and instrumentalists of this country, Jens Kommnick developed his own unique and unmistakable style on the guitar - a style between "Celtic fingerstyle guitar", classical, jazz and folk. The new album Stringed - surprisingly only his fourth album - marks a special point in the impressive musical journey of the 56 year-old guitarist. The intoxicating piece "The Humours of Stockfisch" also tells of this journey that has lead him to the legendary Stockfisch studios. He says the song came to him "spontaneously" (I rub my eyes in amazement) in a recording break as he sat in front of the microphone. He plays a baritone guitar on this piece; guitar fans will surely hear and appreciate these details. Jens Kommnick is a fascinated and fascinating multi-instrumentalist and for his new album Stringed (the title tells you what to expect) he played all sorts of stringed instruments, including of course his "Redwood", a guitar built by Lowden, with a warm and brilliant tone that finds a direct way to the listeners' hearts.

It's the effortlessness of "The Bride's Wedding Dress / The Wedding Schottische", the gentle tones in "Born an Angel", the surprising turns and twists in "Regenreise (The Journey of Rain)" and the breathtaking runs in "Ton Double Fisel / Gavotte Pour Soïg" that move and astonish the listener. Above all, these compositions make one thing clearly perceptible and audible: this is Jens Kommnick himself, who lends a soul to the songs with his human warmth. The lovely comments in the booklet about how the songs came into being also show this warmth, whether in the touching story of "The Empty House" or the affectionate recollection of "Christophs Tanz (Christoph's Dance)".

Once upon a time... Fairy tales enchant those who read them - we all remember them - often leaving a smile on the readers' faces. In a magical way, the new solo-album Stringed from Jens Kommnick also has the same effect, recorded brilliantly at the Stockfisch studios.

- Marc Liese, February 2022


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Premastering by Hans-Jörg Maucksch at Pauler Acoustics with B&W 800 D3 Monitors
  • Mediabook


Jens Kommnick guitars, bouzouki, mandolin, cello, fretless bass, piano, harpsichord


  1. Es war einmal (Once Upon a Time)
  2. The Empty House
  3. Christophs Tanz (Christoph's Dance)
  4. Born an Angel
  5. Ton Double Fisel / Gavotte pour Soïg
  6. Lights on the Ocean
  7. Kühe! (Cows!)
  8. Regenreise (The Journey of Rain)
  9. Monday Wedding / The Mistaken Wheelchair
  10. The Humours of Stockfisch
  11. Come Again
  12. Castle in the Moonlight
  13. Lass nun ruhig los das Ruder
  14. The Bride's Wedding Dress / The Wedding Schottische
  15. The Morning Star

Customers Also Like