Genre: Pop Rock
Label: New West
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


John Hiatt Only the Song Survives 180g 15LP Box Set

John Hiatt

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

180g Vinyl 15LP Box Set!
Definitive Collection Spanning 2 Decades Of New West Records Releases!
Housed In Leatherette Record Carrying Case!

Only The Song Survives is the definitive collection of John Hiatt's musical output spanning two decades of releases on New West Records. The vast box set includes eleven albums, spread across fifteen long play records, all pressed on high quality 180g vinyl. Four releases - Crossing Muddy Waters (2000), The Tiki Bar Is Open (2001), Beneath This Gruff Exterior (2003) and Master Of Disaster (2005) - have been remastered for vinyl and pressed on wax for the very first time. The box set's 48-page book is autographed by John Hiatt and features rare photos, testimonials, essays and insights from many of Hiatt's co-conspirators throughout his career - from Ry Cooder, Steve Earle, Sonny Landreth, Patterson Hood, Luther Dickinson, Rodney Crowell, James McMurtry and more.

It's a portable record suitcase that houses all the records and the autographed book, complete with buckle, handle, and gold foil stamping.

Four records are included that are pressed on vinyl for the very first time worldwide: Crossing Muddy Waters, The Tiki Bar Is Open, Beneath This Gruff Exterior, and Master Of Disaster

A 48-page book featuring photos by Jack Spencer, David McClister, Michael Wilson, Jim McGuire and C. Taylor Crothers and written contributions from Ry Cooder, Steve Earle, Rodney Crowell, Patterson Hood, Sonny Landreth, James McMurtry, Luther Dickinson, David Immerglück and more.


  • 15LP Box Set (11 Albums)
  • 180g Vinyl
  • 4 of the albums remastered and pressed on vinyl for the very first time
  • 48-page autographed booklet featuring rare photos, testimonials, essays and insights
  • Leatherette Record Carrying Case with buckle, handle, and gold foil stamping
  • Suede Inlay with Collar


Crossing Muddy Waters (2000)*

  1. Lincoln Town
  2. Crossing Muddy Waters
  3. What Do We Do Now
  4. Only The Song Survives
  5. Lift Up Every Stone
  6. Take It Down
  7. Gone
  8. Take It Back
  9. Mr. Stanley
  10. God's Golden Eyes
  11. Before I Go

The Tiki Bar Is Open (2001)*

  1. Everybody Went Low
  2. Hangin' Round Here
  3. All The Lilacs In Ohio
  4. My Old Friend
  5. I Know A Place
  6. Something Broken
  7. Rock Of Your Love
  8. I'll Never Get Over You
  9. The Tiki Bar Is Open
  10. Come Home To You
  11. Farther Stars

Beneath This Gruff Exterior (2003)*

  1. My Baby Blue
  2. Almost Fed Up With The Blues
  3. My Dog And Me
  4. Circle Back
  5. Window On The World
  6. Fly Back Home
  7. How Bad's The Coffee
  8. Missing Pieces
  9. Uncommon Connection
  10. The Nagging Dark
  11. The Most Original Sin
  12. The Last Time

Master Of Disaster (2005)*

  1. Master Of Disaster
  2. Howlin' Down The Cumberland
  3. Thunderbird
  4. Wintertime Blues
  5. When My Love Crosses Over
  6. Love's Not Where We Thought We Left It
  7. Ain't Ever Goin' Back
  8. Cold River
  9. Find You At Last
  10. Old School
  11. Back In The Corner

Live From Austin, TX (2005) - 2LP

  1. Icy Blue Heart
  2. Loving A Hurricane
  3. When You Hold Me Tight
  4. Your Dad Did
  5. Straight Outta Time
  6. Memphis In The Meantime
  7. Something Wild
  8. Have A Little Faith In Me
  9. Buffalo River Home
  10. Thing Called Love
  11. Angel
  12. Tennessee Plates
  13. Slow Turning
  14. Perfectly Good Guitar

Same Old Man (2008)

  1. Old Days
  2. Love You Again
  3. On With You
  4. Hurt My Baby
  5. What Love Can Do
  6. Ride My Pony
  7. Cherry Red
  8. Our Time
  9. Two Hearts
  10. Same Old Man
  11. Let's Give This Love A Try

The Open Road (2010) - 2LP

  1. The Open Road
  2. Haulin'
  3. Go Down Swingin'
  4. Like A Freight Train
  5. My Baby
  6. Homeland
  7. Wonder Of Love
  8. What Kind Of Man
  9. Movin' On
  10. Fireball Roberts
  11. Carry You Back Home

Dirty Jeans And Mudslide Hymns (2011) - 2LP

  1. Damn This Town
  2. 'Til I Get My Lovin' Back
  3. I Love That Girl
  4. All The Way Under
  5. Don't Wanna Leave You Now
  6. Detroit Made
  7. Hold On For Your Love
  8. Train To Birmingham
  9. Down Around My Place
  10. Adios To California
  11. When New York Had Her Heart Broke

Mystic Pinball (2012) - 2LP

  1. We're Alright Now
  2. Bite Marks
  3. It All Comes Back Someday
  4. Wood Chipper
  5. My Business
  6. I Just Don't Know What To Say
  7. I Know How To Lose You
  8. You're All The Reason I Need
  9. One Of Them Damn Days
  10. No Wicked Grin
  11. Give It Up
  12. Blues Can't Even Find Me

Terms Of My Surrender (2014)

  1. Long Time Comin'
  2. Face Of God
  3. Marlene
  4. Wind Don't Have To Hurry
  5. Nobody Knew His Name
  6. Baby's Gonna Kick
  7. Nothin' I Love
  8. Terms Of My Surrender
  9. Here To Stay
  10. Old People
  11. Come Back Home

The Eclipse Sessions (2018)

  1. Cry To Me
  2. All The Way To The River
  3. Aces Up Your Sleeve
  4. Poor Imitation Of God
  5. Nothing In My Heart
  6. Over The Hill
  7. Outrunning My Soul
  8. Hide Your Tears
  9. The Odds Of Loving You
  10. One Stiff Breeze
  11. Robber's Highway

* First time ever on vinyl

Customers Also Like