Genre: Folk
Label: Atlantic
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


John Prine Sweet Revenge 180g LP

John Prine

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Third Studio Album Reissued On 180g Vinyl LP!

Sweet Revenge is John Prine's third album, released in 1973.

Two-time Grammy-winner, singer-songwriter, John Prine, was among the English language's premier phrase-turners. Forty-five years into a remarkable career that drew effusive praise from Bob Dylan, Kris Kristofferson, Bonnie Raitt, Roger Waters, Tom Petty, Bruce Springsteen, and others who would know, Prine was a smiling, shuffling force for good. A Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame member whose classic debut album, simply titled John Prine, is recognized as part of the Recording Academy's Grammy Hall of Fame.

"Prine wrote 'Sweet Revenge' and the album of the same name as a bit of sonic retribution. His label wasn't happy with the commercial reception to his second LP, so he dropped a veritable masterpiece to set them straight and silence them once and for all." - The Bluegrass Situation

"Sometimes, revenge isn't just in the lyrics - it's the actual song itself. After his second album failed to resonate as powerfully as his debut, and he'd literally quit his day job, Prine was suffering from a bit of an existential crisis. He chose to respond with a third LP, Sweet Revenge, full of stunners like 'Mexican Home' and 'Please Don't Bury Me,' along with the title track. With lyrics ripped from Hunter S. Thompson (The milkman left me a note yesterday/'Get out of this town by noon/You're coming on way too soon/And besides that, we never liked you anyway'), he hits back at the detractors with a priceless melody that said this Chicagoan wasn't going anywhere, no matter what the milkman demands." - Rolling Stone, Country's 20 Best Revenge Songs


  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • Presented in its original packaging
  • Full lyrics
  • Made in the EU


Side One:

  1. Sweet Revenge
  2. Please Don't Bury Me
  3. Christmas In Prison
  4. Dear Abby
  5. Blue Umbrella
  6. Often Is A Word I Seldom Use

Side Two:

  1. Onomatopeia
  2. Grandpa Was A Carpenter
  3. The Accident (Things Could Be Worse)
  4. Mexican Home
  5. A Good Time
  6. Nine Pound Hammer

Customers Also Like