Genre: Classical
Label: Universal


Katherine Jenkins The Ultimate Collection Numbered Limited Edition K2 HD Import CD

Katherine Jenkins

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Click Here for Sound Samples!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Very Limited Quantities!
Only 1,000 Numbered Copies Available!

24-Bit/100kHz Mastering! This K2 HD Mastering CD will play on ALL CD players!

This recording has been mastered by the K2 HD format of 24-bit 100kHz, which creates an unbelievable sound surpassing other formats!

The lovely soprano from Wales, (who could also have been a professional ballroom dancer as was revealed in the 14th season of ABC TV's Dancing With the Stars reality show), reinvents pop and show tunes like "I Will Always Love You", "Don't Cry For Me Argentina" and Cohen's "Hallelujah" as classical songs.

"Released shortly after the Welsh soprano turned 30, the Katherine Jenkins compilation The Ultimate Collection is a good summation of her recording career so far. In that sense, it tends to confirm the impression of her as essentially a blonde, 20-years-younger Sarah Brightman, to the point of repeating many songs associated with Brightman, such as "Time to Say Goodbye," "Pie Jesu," and "The Music of the Night." In the classical crossover world of Brightman and Jenkins, one takes familiar pop ballads and show tunes and finds ways to suggest that they are to be considered classical music. Thus, Jenkins sings the Dolly Parton-penned Whitney Houston hit "I Will Always Love You" and the theme from Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, "(Everything I Do) I Do It for You" (written by Bryan Adams, Michael Kamen, and Mutt Lange, and a hit for Adams), in Italian, as if they were arias from lost operas. She also takes on show tunes like "I Could Have Danced All Night" and "Don't Cry for Me Argentina." And she treats Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" as if it were a sacred hymn. (It isn't, but she's not the first singer to think it is, and for Cohen, that's made it his most valuable copyright since "Suzanne.") Of course, she also does a few actual classical pieces. From a pop perspective, it seems odd that she re-covers so much oft-covered material. But from a classical perspective, it simply may be that Brightman has established a classical crossover repertoire, and as with any classical repertoire, each succeeding generation has the right and obligation to reinterpret it. Certainly, Jenkins' sales indicate that her audience is perfectly happy to hear her sing this crop of recent warhorses, and The Ultimate Collection puts them on one disc." - William Ruhlmann,

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• K2 HD 100kHz / 24-bit Mastering
• Made in Japan

1. Time To Say Goodbye
2. Hallelujah
3. I Will Always Love You
4. I Vow To Thee My Country
5. (Everything I Do) I Do It For You
6. Nella Fantasia
7. Hymn to the Fallen
8. The Flower Duet
9. Pie Jesu
10. Calon Lan
11. Caruso
12. Vide Cor Meum
13. O Mio Babbino Caro
14. Music Of the Night
Bonus Tracks:
15. I Could Have Danced All Night
16. I've Dreamed Of You
17. Don't Cry For Me Argentina

Customers Also Like