Genre: Soundtrack
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Kenyon Hopkins The Hustler Soundtrack Import LP

Kenyon Hopkins

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Gritty, Smoky Jazz from Underrated Film Composer!

The Hustler was the first truly iconic film of Paul Newman's career. It was nominated for nine academy awards: best picture, actor, actress, director, screenplay, cinematography, art direction and two for best supporting actor. The beautiful Jazz score finally re-released on vinyl is by the composer Kenyon Hopkins (Baby Doll, 12 Angry Men, The Fugitive Kind).

A great and much underrated composer of jazz-inflected film scores and musical portraits, Hopkins worked in television beginning in the mid-1950s and branched out into film scoring soon after.

Hopkins was particularly adept at using jazz themes, rhythms, and orchestrations in his scores, often paralleling the down-and-out subjects and settings on screen with what Basic Hip has called, "smoky, gritty, rotten-to-the-core jazz."

• Vinyl LP
• Import

Side A:

1. Main Title (Stop & Go)
2. Minnesota Fats
3. The Loser
4. Sarah's Theme
5. 4 Flights Up
6. Fast Buck
7. Small Time Charlie
Side B:
1. Bert's Theme
2. Contract with Depravity
3. All Thumbs
4. Dining Out
5. Derby Time
6. Lipstick on a Mirror
7. The Winner
8. End Title

Customers Also Like