Genre: Alternative
Label: Mute
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Liars They Threw Us All in a Trench and Stuck a Monument on Top LP (Recycled Color Vinyl)


$12.99 $35.99
(You save $23.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition Recycled Color Vinyl LP!

They Threw Us All in a Trench and Stuck a Monument on Top is the first installment of the new Liars reissue series, where every two months an album from the back catalog will be released on limited edition recycled color vinyl. The campaign kicks off with Liars' debut album, originally released in 2001 and recorded over two days in Brooklyn, New York with producer Steve Revitte (The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion & Beastie Boys). At the time of its release, Liars were Melbourne-born Angus Andrew (vocals & pedals), Aaron Hemphill from L.A. (guitar & drum machine) and Nebraskians Pat Nature (bass & synthbox) and drummer Ron Albertson.

Liars have a surprisingly unique approach that distinguishes them from other groups in their willingness to experiment with different tones, volumes, and styles, all of which make They Threw Us in a Trench and Stuck a Monument On an astounding debut. Catchy group vocals are all over the disc, and just about every chorus is instantly memorable yet still somewhat pummeling. The use of digital sounds and beats only adds to the unique properties of the record, giving it a feel somewhat akin to later Les Savy Fav records, only with a much more punk-fueled sound. Liars are something special, and when a young band puts out a record like this it is hard not to pay attention. Where they'll go from here is impossible to guess, but with a band this hyperactively creative, that seems to be the point.
-Peter J. D'Angelo,, 4/5 stars


  • Limited Edition
  • Vinyl LP
  • Recycled Color Vinyl
  • LP Jacket with Resealable Compostable Outer Plastic Sleeve
  • Limited Time Download Code
  • Manufactured in the EU



  1. Grown Men Don't Fall in the River, Just Like That
  2. Mr Your on Fire Mr
  3. Loose Nuts on the Veladrome
  4. The Garden Was Crowded and Outside


  1. Tumbling Walls Buried Me in the Debris - with ESG
  2. Nothing Is Ever Lost or Can Be Lost My Science Friend
  3. We Live NE of Compton
  4. Why Midnight Walked but Didn't Ring Her Bell
  5. This Dust Makes That Mud

Customers Also Like