Genre: Classical
Label: LSO Live


London Symphony Orchestra & Gianandrea Noseda Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7 Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

London Symphony Orchestra & Gianandrea Noseda

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD!
Gianandrea Noseda Conducts The London Symphony Orchestra!
Powerful, Shattering Shostakovich Symphony!

"Certain moments in history gave composers the possibility of saying something deeply personal", says LSO Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda. "And Shostakovich speaks equally to us today." As Noseda and the LSO continue their journey through Shostakovich's symphonies, which span the composer's lifetime, they take on one of his biggest creations, the Seventh. Written during the siege of Leningrad in World War II, it is shattering in scale and impact. For Noseda, "you can hear the march of the soldiers, the obsessive repetition, a loop you cannot escape," in the relentless, pounding rhythms, the struggle towards a fragile victory.

Noseda demands much of the London Symphony in the work's lengthy quiet passages; these can easily drag, but in his hands, they are incredibly detailed, and the orchestra's wind players respond magnificently. Perhaps the 'invasion theme' area in the first movement, moving from music modeled on Ravel's Bolero to a sarcastic reference to Hitler's favorite work, The Merry Widow, has more of a minatory edge elsewhere, in Bernstein or Mravinsky. However, Noseda's accomplishment is considerable, and all the more so inasmuch as he takes the work at a deliberate 74 minutes, without letting it flag. The engineering, too, is very strong; audience noise is stripped out, but an X [factor] from the excitement of live performance remains.
-James Manheim,, 4/5 stars


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Multi-Channel 51. & Stereo Mixes
  • Recorded live in DSD, December 2019 in the Barbican Hall, London
  • Total Playing Time: 75'00"
  • Manufactured in Austria


London Symphony Orchestra
Gianandrea Noseda conductor


Dmitri Dmitriyevich Shostakovich (1906-1975)

Symphony No.7 in C Major Op. 60, "Leningrad"
  1. I. Allegretto
  2. II. Moderato (Poco Allegretto)
  3. III. Adagio
  4. IV. Allegro Non Troppo