Genre: Pop Rock
Label: PTKF
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Mercury Rev Bobbie Gentry's The Delta Sweete Revisited LP

Mercury Rev

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Collaborative Tribute On Vinyl LP!
Features Norah Jones, Lucinda Williams, Hope Sandoval & More!

Mercury Rev's tribute to Bobbie Gentry's 1968 gem The Delta Sweete features an amazingly talented group of featured vocalists. The collaborative effort includes "Ode To Billie Joe" featuring Lucinda Williams.

Featured artists include Norah Jones, Hope Sandoval (Mazzy Star), Lucinda Williams, Laetitia Sadier (Stereolab), Phoebe Bridgers, Margo Price, Rachel Goswell (Slowdive), Beth Orton, Marissa Nadler, Vashti Bunyan, Kaela Sinclair(M83), Susanne Sundfør and Carice van Houten.

"Mercury Rev has recruited a murderers' row of guest vocalists to reinterpret Gentry's album track-by-track, with the band holding fort as a sort of psychedelic house band. Bobbie Gentry's The Delta Sweete Revisited is a layered, affectionate and often gorgeous tribute to an album that never got its due, even if the band's string-drenched grandeur occasionally smoothes over the swamp-rock grittiness of Gentry's music... Still, the album does not aim to recreate arrangements from a half-century prior; the emphasis is on radical reinterpretation, and that mission succeeds... Mercury Rev's project revels in a spirit of discovery and transformation. If you haven't heard The Delta Sweete before, here's a gift for you. And if you have, here's something new." - Paste Magazine

"A loving of the greatest albums you have never heard." - David Fricke

• Vinyl LP
• Produced, performed and rearranged by Mercury Rev
• Limited time download code

Side One:

1. Okolona River Bottom Band (feat. Norah Jones)
2. Big Boss Man (feat. Hope Sandoval)
3. Reunion (feat. Rachel Goswell)
4. Parchmann Farm (feat. Carice van Houten)
5. Mornin' Glory (feat. Laetitia Sadier)
6. Sermon (feat. Margo Price)
Side Two:
1. Tobacco Road (feat. Susanne Sundfor)
2. Penduli Pendulum (feat. Vashti Bunyan w/ Kaela Sinclair)
3. Jessye' Lisabeth (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
4. Refractions (feat. Marissa Nadler)
5. Courtyard (feat. Beth Orton)
6. Ode To Billie Joe* (feat. Lucinda Williams)

*not included on the original album The Delta Sweete

Customers Also Like