Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Rounder
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Nathaniel Rateliff In Memory Of Loss 180g 2LP

Nathaniel Rateliff

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Deluxe Edition Double LP! First Time Ever on Vinyl!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

The first things you notice are the voice and the space. That voice belongs to Nathaniel Rateliff, a man who’s earned the twang and hard-knock weariness that shines through on his 2010 Rounder debut. The space comes courtesy of producer Brian Deck (Califone, Iron & Wine, Modest Mouse), who helped transform 8-track bedroom demos into miniature epics of contrast, beauty, and yearning.

In Memory of Loss is a stunning, heartbreaking sonic document from a singer-songwriter who’s made his way from a childhood in Bay, Missouri (pop. 60) to the national stage. Rateliff’s debut album is rooted in a bygone era. It’s both fresh and classic, imbued with a melancholy nostalgia, the rough candor of rock 'n' roll’s past and the warmth and earnestness of folk storytellers. No wonder Time Out New York says Rateliff conjures "the ghosts of Nick Drake and Gram Parsons."

These tracks, with their soulful minimalism, hint of the music he grew up on – Van Morrison, Muddy Waters, The Beatles – yet Rateliff is also at home in what may be called, for lack of a better term, the neo-folk revival. His voice is so confident that you can occasionally imagine the music dropping out entirely, a song propelled solely by Rateliff’s a capella strengths – equal parts church spiritual and TV On The Radio riffing on The Pixies.

Nathaniel says of the album: “My goal is to make people have honest emotions and a real experience by listening to music in the same way that I feel, the same way that most people feel when they listen to music, that it touches them in some way."

This persistent troubadour has struggled and persevered to this point. Now, the wider world is ready for Nathaniel Rateliff.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Deluxe Edition
• First time on vinyl
• New artwork
• Includes 3 bonus tracks

LP 1
Side A:

1. Once In A Great While
2. Early Spring Till
3. We Never Win
4. Brakeman
5. Longing And Losing
Side B:
1. Oil & Lavender
2. Shroud
3. You Should’ve Seen The Other Guy
4. Whimper And Wail

LP 2
Side C:

1. Boil & Fight
2. When We Could
3. A Lamb On The Stone
4. When You’re Here
5. Happy Just To Be
Side D:
1. Laughing (bonus track)
2. You Make All The Noise (bonus track)
3. Pounds And Pounds (bonus track)

Customers Also Like