Label: Repair
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Mike Elizondo
Format: 33RPM,


Nickel Creek Celebrants 2LP

Nickel Creek

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Bluegrass Trio's Seventh Album on Double LP!

2024 Grammy Award Nominee:
• Best Folk Album: Celebrants

PopMatters' The 15 Best Americana Albums of 2023 - Rated 5/15!

"My God it's good to see you…"

That first line from Nickel Creek's seventh album Celebrants likely prophesies the warm response awaiting the Americana-bluegrass group's first all-new release in nine years.

While the Grammy-winning trio of singer-songwriter-multi-instrumentalists Sara Watkins (fiddle), Sean Watkins (guitar), and Chris Thile (mandolin) had sporadically collaborated since 2014's A Dotted Line, a 2020 interview pegged to the 20th anniversary of Nickel Creek's debut album ignited a spark. "It was fun to have a reason to wax nostalgic about some stuff that we'd done," says Thile. "And then when we got together, it was just so clear, 'Oh, yeah, we've got some new music to make.'"

They certainly did. The long layoff yielded a bounty of 18 interconnected songs written collectively during a creative retreat in Santa Barbara in early 2021. The tracks form a mosaic that is beautiful from a distance, but each tile also tells its own story.

"We wanted it to be our most ambitious album," says Sean Watkins, "meaning spending the time that we've never had to fully explore our musical ideas and take them as far as we possibly can."

To assist in bringing that vision to fruition the Watkins siblings and Thile decamped to RCA Studio A in Nashville with trusted producer Eric Valentine (Queens of the Stone Age, Grace Potter, Weezer) and recruited Grammy-winning producer-songwriter Mike Elizondo (Fiona Apple, Eminem, Joy Oladokun) to hold down bass duties and serve as another set of ears. The result is perhaps the most audacious yet accessible release of the Grammy-winning trio's 34-year career.

The wide-ranging soundscapes include the melodic pop elation of "Celebrants," the gauzy, the hazy harmonic swirls of "The Meadow," the gentle balladry of "Holding Pattern," and the yearning "Failure Isn't Forever," which brightly bends towards hope. The entire enterprise is, naturally, shot through with the trio's virtuosic picking and shiver-inducing harmonies. The lyrics — addressing love, friendship, time, and the universal travails of travel— combine the poetic and plain-spoken, hitting a sweet spot of ethereal and relatable as bridges are built, crossed, burned, and rebuilt.

"My favorite music is beautiful or exciting and makes me curious and think 'I want to hear that again!'" says Sara Watkins. "In the first day or two of writing we knew that we wanted each song to stand alone as something that's special and complete, but in the context of a complete album, each song just has a whole new dimension."

It's about the joy of getting back together and making and experiencing live music in person. We've had many records over the past two years addressing the isolation and other issues involved with quarantine. Nickel Creek is ready to talk about finally seeing other people again.
-Chris Conaton, PopMatters
...a rangy and satisfying return to form that is as inventive as anything in their catalog.
-Timothy Monger,, 4/5 stars (The AllMusic 2023 Year in Review - Best of 2023)


  • Double LP
  • Nickel Creek's First Album in 9 Years
  • Gatefold Jacket


Side 1:

  1. Celebrants
  2. Strangers
  3. Water Under the Bridge, Part 1
  4. The Meadow
  5. Thinnest Wall

Side 2:

  1. Going Out…
  2. Holding Pattern
  3. Where the Long Line Leads
  4. Goddamned Saint

Side 3:

  1. Stone's Throw
  2. Goddamned Saint, Reprise
  3. From the Beach
  4. To the Airport
  5. …Despite the Weather

Side 4:

  1. Hollywood Ending
  2. New Blood
  3. Water Under the Bridge, Part 2
  4. Failure Isn't Forever

Customers Also Like