Genre: Blues
Label: Provogue
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Robin Trower Coming Closer To the Day 180g LP

Robin Trower

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Procol Harum's Robin Trower is one of the most influential guitarists of British Blues Rock!

It’s rare to find a ’60s legend still in trailblazing form from his early days in Procol Harum. While Robin Trower’s peers recycle the old hits or retreat from view, the 73-year-old guitarist finds himself in a golden late-bloom of creativity. Trower’s latest release, Coming Closer To The Day showcases his expert song craft and soulful performances.

Recorded at Studio 91 in Newbury, alongside producer and engineer Sam Winfield, this latest offering is still vintage Trower, but with a more developed sound that doesn’t impede Trower’s ability as a songwriter. Speaking about the new album, Trower explains, “It’s really a continuation of a natural progression over the last three albums.” He continues, “Each album goes earthier and earthier. I wanted to make this as real and as performance based as possible – and not a manufactured thing.” The caliber of the songwriting on this record is matched by Trower’s performances, with the bandleader handling all instruments except the drums. “When I’m working on a song idea, it has to be something I’d really like to play lead guitar on, otherwise I don’t bother with it,” admits Trower. “In terms of the lead guitar, I tried to make it as soulful as possible. It’s loose and relaxed. I wanted to capture something that happens, rather than something that’s pre-worked out. It’s got to come from the gut.”

Trower’s artistic instincts continue to be the driving force that’s taking his late career to new heights. As the bluesman tightens his grip on the long-term fans that fell for his classic ’60s work, he hopes to reel in younger music-lovers who crave something honest and genuine. “My passion for guitar now is stronger than ever,” proclaims Trower. “It’s still a great thrill just to play.”

• 180g Vinyl
• Limited time MP3 download

Side A:

1. Diving Bell
2. Truth or Lies
3. Coming Closer To the Day
4. Ghosts
5. Tide of Confusion
6. The Perfect Wrong
Side B:
7. Little Girl Blue
8. Someone of Great Renown
9. Lonesome Road
10. Tell Me
11. Don't Ever Change
12. Take Me With You

Customers Also Like