Rodrigo Y Gabriela and C.U.B.A. Area 52 2LP (Red & Blue Splatter Vinyl)

Rodrigo y Gabriela and C.U.B.A.

$24.99 $35.99
(You save $11.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Acoustic Guitar Duo's Collab With 13-Piece Cuban Orchestra on 2LP!
Songs From Their Catalogue Re-Imagined!
Remastered & Pressed on Limited Edition Red & Blue Splatter Vinyl!

Area 52 contains nine of Rodrigo y Gabriela's favorite songs from their own catalogue re-arranged and re-configured for a 13-piece Cuban orchestra comprised of some of Havana's finest young players, collectively known as C.U.B.A.

Produced by the legendary Peter Asher and recorded in Havana, the 2012 album is the guitar duo's first collaboration with another group and features special guests Samuel Folmell Alfonso (drums), John Tempesta (drums), Anoushka Shankar (sitar), Carles Benavent (bass), Teresa Carlota Polledo Noriega (vocals) and Le Trio Joubran (oud).

What started out as simply an orchestral retrospective has become an entirely new Rodrigo y Gabriela album, one that showcases an even more startling range of musicianship. In sum, this album expands the very definition of musical collaboration.
-Thom Jurek, AllMusic
Tunes such as Tamacun may seem over-worked (after all, it appeared on their debut set, then on two of their live albums) but here it is transformed thanks to the tight, attacking brass work. Elsewhere there's a salsa-flavoured treatment of Hanuman, and a new version of Ixtapa that eases from Spain to India (thanks to a fine solo from Shankar) and on to Cuban jazz. Then there's the slow and drifting Logos, helped by the bass work of Spain's flamenco and jazz virtuoso Carles Benavent, and a treatment of 11:11 that switches from Pink Floyd-influenced guitar work to Cuban folk song. An impressive departure - just when it was needed.
-Robin Denselow, The Guardian


  • Limited Edition
  • Red & Blue Splatter Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Remastered for vinyl by John Webber at AIR Studios, London
  • Gatefold sleeve


Side One:

  1. Santo Domingo (feat. Samuel Folmell Alfonso on drums)
  2. Hanuman (feat. John Tempesta on drums)

Side Two:

  1. Ixtapa (feat. Anoushka Shankar on sitar)
  2. 11:11 (feat. Carles Benavent on bass and Teresa Carlota Polledo Noriega on vocals)

Side Three:

  1. Master Maqui (feat. Le Trio Joubran on ouds)
  2. Diablo Rojo

Side Four:

  1. Logos
  2. Juan Loco (feat. Carles Benavent on bass)
  3. Tamacun (feat. John Tempesta on drums)

Customers Also Like