Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Bear Family
Size: 10"
Format: 45RPM,


Roy Orbison The Cat Called Domino Import 45rpm 10" Vinyl & CD

Roy Orbison

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited "Ooby Dooby" Edition On 45rpm 10" Vinyl & CD!
In Celebration Of Roy Orbison's 85th Birthday!

Includes Special Large-Format Booklet Written By Music Historian Bill Dahl!
Some Tracks Are On Vinyl For The First Time Ever!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

1-LP 10-inch vinyl with 8-page booklet (8"x8"), 12 single tracks. Playing time approx. 27 min - plus bonus CD, 20 tracks, total playing time approx. 60 min. Limited 'Ooby Dooby' edition to celebrate the 85th birthday of Roy Orbison on 23 April 2021.

Unique vinyl compilation of the best rockabilly recordings of the young Roy Orbison from his time with SUN Records in Memphis. Some originally unreleased recordings first came out on CD in the late 1980s - here on vinyl for the first time ever! Both pre-SUN sides of Orbison's first single on Je-Wel are also included.

The enclosed bonus CD contains 8 more tracks. The included large-format booklet tells more about the recordings, written by music historian Bill Dahl. The sound, as usual with Bear Family, meets the highest standards.

The sweeping, ultra-dramatic ballads that Roy Orbison rode to fame and fortune during the early 1960s stand in stark contrast to the rollicking rockabilly that he specialized in at Sun Records halfway through the previous decade. Bear Family's jam-packed 10-inch LP A Cat Called Domino brings The Big O's Sun catalog back to the vinyl that it started out on. His 1956 classics "Ooby Dooby," "Go! Go! Go!," "You're My Baby," and "Rockhouse" are joined by some real rarities: a version of "Chicken-Hearted" with a semi-spoken vocal and versions of "Problem Child," "You're Gonna Cry," and "Claudette" that didn't surface until the late '80s.

The enclosed 20-song CD boasts more scarce items: the exciting saxophone-overdubbed versions of "Mean Little Mama" and "Problem Child"; both sides of Orbison's pre-Sun debut single for Je-Wel fronting The Teen Kings that paired "Ooby Dooby" and "Trying To Get." To You; both sides of protégé Ken Cook's Phillips International single (Roy joins Cook behind the mic on "I Was A Fool"), and ex-Teen King Peanuts Wilson's rendition of the Orbison-penned "I've Had It," which debuted on vinyl via a Bear Family 45 in 1999. Immortal as his smash ballads will always remain, Roy Orbison was a red-hot rocker when he was at Sun. This package generates a ton of Sun-bred heat!


  • Limited "Ooby Dooby" Edition
  • 45rpm 10" Vinyl
  • CD with 8 Extra Tracks (17 tracks total)
  • Mastering by Marlon Klein at Exil Studio GmbH
  • 8" x 8" 8-Page Illustrated Booklet - Written by Music Historian Bill Dahl
  • Several Tracks On Vinyl For The 1st Time
  • Rare Tracks
  • Original SUN Recordings licensed from Sun Entertainment, Inc.
  • Import
  • Made In The EU


10" Vinyl

Side 1:
  1. Cat Called Domino
  2. Go! Go! Go!
  3. Problem Child (without saxophone)
  4. You're My Baby
  5. Chicken Hearted (semi-spoken vocal)
  6. Sweet And Easy To Love
Side 2:
  1. Ooby Dooby
  2. You're Gonna Cry
  3. I Like Love
  4. Claudette (with band)
  5. Rock House
  6. Mean Little Mama (without saxophone)


  1. Cat Called Domino
  2. Go! Go! Go!
  3. Problem Child (without saxophone)
  4. You're My Baby
  5. Chicken Hearted (semi-spoken vocal)
  6. Sweet And Easy To Love
  7. Radio Spot
  8. Ooby Dooby
  9. You're Gonna Cry
  10. I Like Love
  11. Claudette (with band)
  12. Rock House
  13. Mean Little Mama (without saxophone)
  14. Ooby Dooby (Jewel version)
  15. Trying To Get To You (Jewel version)
  16. Crazy Baby
  17. I Was A Fool
  18. Problem Child (with saxophone)
  19. Mean Little Mama (with saxophone)
  20. I've Had It

Customers Also Like